Mario 3D Land and "update"

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by kasapuf, Nov 12, 2011.

Nov 12, 2011

Mario 3D Land and "update" by kasapuf at 11:45 PM (3,227 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. kasapuf
    OP

    Newcomer kasapuf Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I have lurked for awhile on these forums and have found things on here very useful well now I decided to speak up with a question I am unable to find on here. Mario 3D Land comes out tomorrow/next few days and I am pretty sure this "update" you have to install before you play the game is an anti-piracy move by Nintendo, I am wondering since there are no flash cards that can play 3ds roms yet, will it affect my 3ds if I get this game and when one day ( hopefully sooner than later ) flash cards can play 3ds roms, will it brick my 3ds or is this "update" only affecting people using flash cards on the 3ds to play ds games/home brews? I have a DS phat where I play all my old roms but I have not YET used any type of flashcard on a 3ds. I know over time more anti-piracy measures will be taken but since we could still be a while from a flashcard that plays 3ds roms, would it really be that bad of a move right now to get this game and play it on my 3ds or should I hold off? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    1) Nintendo won't (actually, can't) brick your system for using Flashcarts. Those are stupid rumors and scare tactics by Nintendo (which are working well, I guess).
    2) There are no flashcart that can play 3ds back-ups. There's no way for Nintendo to create a bricker for something that doesn't exist.
     
  3. kasapuf
    OP

    Newcomer kasapuf Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the quick response, I really appreciate it.
     
  4. pakistexican88x

    Member pakistexican88x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    My question is related to the Mario update, but with DS flash carts like the Acekard. My Acekard's firmware has already been updated to work with 2.1.0-4U, but will it still work with the new update?
     
  5. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    Probably not. Wait for an update from the ak team and update your ak2i first.
     
  6. pakistexican88x

    Member pakistexican88x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    I had actually found the answer 2 seconds after I posted haha. Thanks
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/302773-firmware-update-compilation-thread/

    Ugh. I bought the game without realizing there might be an update required. And now it's killing me ;_;
     

Share This Page