Hacking Majora's Mask and Gateway 3DS

Orcastraw

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
68
Trophies
0
XP
156
Country
United States
Has anyone looked into this game as far as comparability with launching the Gateway hack? Any chance the exploit could be transferred over? OOT3D and MM3D are from the same developers, after all.
 

Codename

GREEN BRO IS BEST BRO
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
365
Trophies
0
XP
243
Country
Canada
Sorry, but I don't think it would be possible because Nintendo pushed out a second revision of Ocarina of Time 3D cartridges awhile back that are patched the vulnerability that the Gateway exploit relies on. Based on that info, one can assume that they made sure the same vulnerability wasn't available in Majora's Mask 3D.
 

motezazer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
1,214
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
1,422
Country
France
Sorry, but I don't think it would be possible because Nintendo pushed out a second revision of Ocarina of Time 3D cartridges awhile back that are patched the vulnerability that the Gateway exploit relies on. Based on that info, one can assume that they made sure the same vulnerability wasn't available in Majora's Mask 3D.

Rev 1.1 didn't patch the vulnerability. Gateway team (or someone else) just need to port the saves.
But I don't think this bug exist on MM3D.
 

Codename

GREEN BRO IS BEST BRO
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
365
Trophies
0
XP
243
Country
Canada
Rev 1.1 didn't patch the vulnerability. Gateway team (or someone else) just need to port the saves.
But I don't think this bug exist on MM3D.

Then what's exactly is preventing the exploit from running on Rev 1.1 copies of OoT3D?
 

Qtis

Grey Knight Inquisitor
Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2010
Messages
3,817
Trophies
1
Location
The Forge
XP
1,715
Country
Antarctica
Then what's exactly is preventing the exploit from running on Rev 1.1 copies of OoT3D?

Wrong code execution. Having a single part wrong in a series of code can make it crash. If one version works and the second has the exploit still available, you'll be able to do it again if everything else is seen as constant. Just like the original 4.5 hack and CN exploit regarding up to 9.2 compatibility.
 

Hashtastrophe

Wizard
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
442
Trophies
0
Location
Yes that kind of wizard.
XP
425
Country
Canada
Has anyone looked into this game as far as comparability with launching the Gateway hack? Any chance the exploit could be transferred over? OOT3D and MM3D are from the same developers, after all.
Same developer means nothing. Even slight changes between versions can break the exploit with the same game, a different game isn't going to work in 90% of cases. If it did it would still require a bunch of work to get it usable and might have bugs of its own that prevent it from being acceptable for general use.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Uremum made me a sandwich