MadWorld - black screen

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Salaskan, Mar 13, 2009.

Mar 13, 2009

MadWorld - black screen by Salaskan at 8:54 PM (3,111 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Salaskan
    OP

    Newcomer Salaskan Newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I just burned the NTSC version of MadWorld on a DVD-R disc with ImgBurn. When I put it in my (PAL) Wii, it recognizes the game, but when I start it I just get a black screen.

    I have a Wasabi modchip, and it worked flawlessly so far, though the most recent game I've burned other than MadWorld is probably Boom Blox, so I don't know whether this problem is caused by some anti-modchip protection on newer games. For what it's worth, my firmware version is 3.1E, and I haven't modified it manually. I would update it, but I'm afraid I'll brick my Wii or render other copies unplayable.

    I've searched the internet for quite some time looking for a fix for this problem, but I'm not really into the modding scene, and I don't understand most of the explanations given. I read that I needed something called the "Gamma Launcher with 002 fix", but I don't know where I can get it and how I should install it. For what it's worth, I usually just burn a game and play it, and I don't have anything like the Twilight Hack or the Homebrew Channel.

    Could anyone assist me with this? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. WalkerD

    Member WalkerD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Canada
    You son of a bitch....
     
  3. Salaskan
    OP

    Newcomer Salaskan Newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
  4. Meowayne

    Member Meowayne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Germany
  5. MickeyBlue

    Member MickeyBlue GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    Belgium
    Starting the game Mad World via the Backup Launcher Fix Gamma 002 and works perfectly;) but does not work on the Wii disc channel.
     
  6. eric_4_life

    Member eric_4_life GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Canada
    OMG!! I'm tired of people saying that it doesen't work in the Disc Channel!! IT DOES!!!!!! I am running it using Softmii 2.1.1 and it works fine. A lot of people say it gets a black screen after the white warning screen, but if you just wait about 25 seconds, it works 100%. Although, a lot of problems may be related to PAL people playing this NTSC games
     
  7. sgwiiboy

    Member sgwiiboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm PAL and I can run through Disc Channel as well.
     
  8. Salaskan
    OP

    Newcomer Salaskan Newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for your comments. Yes, I knew I needed the Gamma Backup Launcher from reading other topics, but I don't know where to get it and how to use it. I'm kinda new to this modding scene...
     
  9. Salaskan
    OP

    Newcomer Salaskan Newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
  10. WalkerD

    Member WalkerD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Canada
    Try the search button maybe?
     
  11. Salaskan
    OP

    Newcomer Salaskan Newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
     
  12. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Try reading the stickies possibly?
     

Share This Page