M3DS Real, autoboot function?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by xenologer, Oct 21, 2009.

Oct 21, 2009

M3DS Real, autoboot function? by xenologer at 5:53 AM (1,810 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. xenologer
    OP

    Newcomer xenologer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Hello there,
    Got an M3DS Real here
    M3 Manager v3.8 X version

    Now, I was looking in my system files and find BOOT.ini
    and it seems to have some sort of tag in there called 'DirectRun'
    I have heard rumors that there is a way to get the M3 to autoboot a rom on startup, I am guessing this is the place to set that up.
    But! how?
    Would someone please enlighten me on how to set this up?

    Additionally, is it possible for the autobooted rom to have software reset enabled? such that I can then go to the normal menu and select a different application if I wish?

    Thanks a lot for the info.
    (sorry if this stuff is obvious, I'm new)
     
  2. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,288
    Country:
    just add the path to the rom after the = sign
    if it's mario.nds in the nds folder, try
    =nds/mario.nds
    also enable the Soft Reset settings in the normal game menu before making it autoboot

    it's actually more hassle this way than booting the game under normal operation
     
  3. xenologer
    OP

    Newcomer xenologer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info.
    Putting the path into the boot.ini did indeed cause it to autoboot that Rom on startup.
    However the software reset keystroke doesn't seem to have effect. - even though this works fine if I don't use the autoboot and instead launch it from the file browser.

    I really need it to be able to autoboot, while retaining the software reset ability to get into the file browser as normal if I choose to...
    Is there an additional setting I need to set this up?
    Would a different firmware allow this ability?


    Lets put it this way, I plan on changing the label on my M3 cart to match the title of the autobooted rom...
    I want to keep all the functionality of various apps and roms on the cart, yet make it not immediately obvious that is is different from any official cartridge...
    Thanks
     
  4. Ryufushichou

    Member Ryufushichou I'm Not British, I'm Just Gay!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Raimon Junior High
    Country:
    Australia
    Why? M3's aren't illegal just the things you CAN if you choose to, do with them. i use mine so im not carrying my cartridges around all day.

    - VV
     
  5. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They are if you have the 1.4 update, it uses copyrighted data to pass the DSi security.
     
  6. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes but a cop isn't going to arrest you for it.
     
  7. xenologer
    OP

    Newcomer xenologer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    True, not illegal.
    But why assume it is cops I'm worried about? There are unusual personal circumstances, which aren't relevant to the technical quesion of how to achieve the goal of a camoflagued M3 cart.
    Do you have the answer and were contemplating wether or not to give it depending on the motive? or were you just curious?

    The question still stands: what options do I need to configure to make the M3 autoboot a rom, yet retain software reset / opt-out to access the normal file menus? Is there a different firmware version which will allow this?
     
  8. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    My history teacher today actually did say that people don't care if you pirate....

    As for TC's problem, I'm not sure if TouchPod has this function, but you can put the ROM on the root of your microSD card and name it "bootx.nds" or "booty.nds". If you do that and press the corresponding button, it will auto-boot into that ROM while allowing you to go into the menus if you don't press anything. I know Sakura has it, so why don't you upgrade?
     
  9. xenologer
    OP

    Newcomer xenologer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks, that sound's promising. However I want the opposite functionality: where it will load the rom by default *unless* I press a button (prefferably obscure multikey or a sequence). Can it do that as well?


    *sigh* and without going into any more details, but just to try and satisfy all the questions,
    yes I am aware that people don't care if you pirate roms. I'm not trying to hide roms, I'm hiding the fact that my DS is a mini computing device when the M3 is inserted.
     
  10. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm... Now that is an interesting idea. Someone else here might know.

    Actually what he said was that he doesn't care if people buy pirated DVDs, but its the importation of pirated DVDs that he has a problem with.
     

Share This Page