M3 Sakura vs. Standard firmware

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Frederica Bernkastel, Aug 14, 2008.

Aug 14, 2008
  1. Frederica Bernkastel
    OP

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok.
    Since we need a topic like this, I decided to make one.

    Which firmware do you need?

    If you play lots of homebrews and roms, then I reccomend the standard firmware.
    If you play loads of media and roms, then Sakura.

    That is obvious
    but...
    what if you do all three?
    Then I reccomend getting the Triple-boot firmware and the dual standard/sakura firmware.

    Both firmwares have different compatability:

    M3 Standard: 100% Compatability Roms/ High homebrew compatability (excluding DSorganise and several others)

    M3 Sakura: High compatability, known problems with Trauma Center 2, Etrian oddessy 2, and GRID

    Please post anything you think I should add.

    Coming soon: Tools for M3
     


  2. choupette

    Newcomer choupette Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    M3 Standard: no favorites, soft reset.
    m3 sakura: favorites, no soft reset.
     
  3. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    what are the problems with grid?
     
  4. strata8

    Member strata8 Look! A pointless distraction!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    618
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    Australia
    I was wondering the same thing
     
  5. illithid

    Newcomer illithid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I played those 3 games fine so far, what is the problem?
     
  6. AXYPB

    Member AXYPB GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Country:
    United States
    I use the iTouchDS firmware for troublesome homebrew. Whatever the default firmware and Sakura can't run, iTouchDS boots every time.
     
  7. Brainy142

    Member Brainy142 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Canada
    I use DSO to boot er, troublesome homebrew
     
  8. Frederica Bernkastel
    OP

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fair enough.
    I had problems with GRID (crashing every time it saved) so I switched back
    This thread is only a guide for people who want to know what one they should use (until Sakura is released officially)
     
  9. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the "known problems" for GRID might actually be a microSD problem.
    you're the only one in this topic having problems with it.
     
  10. Dark

    Member Dark GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    856
    Country:
    United States
    I the standard firm ware cause its a smaller file [​IMG]
     
  11. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    DSO works fine with the regular firmware


    I will keep using official until official eng sakura comes out
     
  12. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Sakura, but it's missing features.
     
  13. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    No problems and no problems. Unless there was any save trouble which I am unaware of and I don't think I encountered. I usually use Sakura, but there are those times I need to use default/iTouch.

    EDIT: I used a Patriot 2GB for those who are wondering what micro SD I used.
     
  14. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    No problems here too, although my friend had trouble with GRID on Sakura (he was using a 4GB Sandisk).
     
  15. saxamo

    Member saxamo Spaaaaace!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using the standard firmware until the team releases the english sakura [​IMG]
     
  16. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    I'll be happy with Sakura when soft reset works, and you don't have to turn off the DS whenever you enable cheats, slow motion, or download play. [​IMG]
     
  17. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    I'm using Sakura from it's release, but that's just because I watch lots of movies, and I was making a skin, so I hat to check it up all the time..
    I don't have any problems with the old firmware, but I really prefer Sakura..
     
  18. triple-sevenz

    Member triple-sevenz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    i use the triple loader but mainly sakura cause the real fw lags and itouch fw looks gay.
     
  19. RomanHelmet

    Newcomer RomanHelmet Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Ohio, US
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried to use DSOrganize a bunch of times but it tells me to dldi patch it. So I went out and tried to figure out how to do so. So I did what I thought was going to work, and nothing did! Can anybody help me to dldi patch DSO so that I can run homebrew from it?

    Also, I use the Sakura firmware as much as I can. But I have the triple loader on it, so I use itouch mostly other than sakura for homebrew. I don't see any reason to use the original m3 since itouch has practically perfect homebrew support. Although I can't remember now, but I had to use the og m3 loader once for some reason cuz something wouldn't work on anything else.
     
  20. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    just put DSO in the root directory of the microsd card and boot from there
     

Share This Page