m3 lite format issue

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by zerolinks, Dec 29, 2008.

Dec 29, 2008

m3 lite format issue by zerolinks at 9:18 AM (1,421 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. zerolinks
    OP

    Member zerolinks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    alright so i decided to reformat my micro sd card for my m3 lite (its not a pro- i use it for GBA games)
    so i reformat in vista and put an update file in the root (making sure the m3 loader update file is English)
    and when i turn on my GBA the splash screen plays and there is no Nintendo logo below it (its not reading anything in the slot)
    so ive been trying to fix this all day and cant figure it out
    can anyone help me
    i've tried formating in Fat and Fat 32 at default and all allocation types
    and nothing
    (my micro SD card is a Sandisk 2.0 GB card made in taiwan)
     
  2. haringtonl

    Member haringtonl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
  3. zerolinks
    OP

    Member zerolinks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    alrighty, so i downloaded and installed the panasonic SD format app, and placed "updagcsd.e35" in the root and nothing else in the folder
    and the same result, ive put a actual gba game into the GBA and it registered and loaded so i know its not the system
    i also put a movie on my sd card and used the sd card reader to watch it on my Xbox so i know the memory card and the reader arent damaged

    can anyone else help me [​IMG]
     
  4. Rob_Threat

    Member Rob_Threat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    East Oakland, Califo'nia
    Country:
    United States
    Can you get to a non Vista machine? I had format issues when I used to run Vista.

    Not sure why, but it only effected my M3Perfects and my 2GB microSD cards... black screens on booting. Formatting on XP solved my issues.

    I just had the same thing happen with a new 8GB microSDHC I was testing in my main M3Lite. Black screens until I formatted with my old friend XP.


    Slightly off topic: Sadly, SDHCs won't work on M3 for anything except media files... no DS homebrew, and no GBA mode at all.





    Hope you get it figured. [​IMG]
     
  5. zerolinks
    OP

    Member zerolinks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    so i tried formatting on XP. and no use
    its ridiculous i cant fix this darn thing i know it works

    EDIT!!
    so i have a feeling its my card because i tried and formated two different memory cards using the panasonic sd converter on my windows XP laptop
    and neither of them registered in my GBA micro or SP
    BUT! when both memory cards were formated and when the SYSTEM file was put in the root for my M3 Simply......They both worked!
    hhhmmmmm.....the plot thickens

    hopefully me adding is helping some people hopefully come up with some solutions being as the ones given already are greatly appreciated
     
  6. zerolinks
    OP

    Member zerolinks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    does anyone have anymore ideas?
     
  7. zerolinks
    OP

    Member zerolinks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    can someone please help me
     
  8. jesus1987

    Newcomer jesus1987 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I have an M3 DS Real and it worked fine when I formatted the 2gb sd in XP.
    BUT.
    I formatted it in FAT32 using standard XP formatter.
    However, I am a bit wary about the Panasonic Formatter mentioned, as this only formats in FAT and not FAT32.
    Isn't it advised to format in FAT32?

    Also, yes, the whole SYSTEM file has to be placed on the root of the sd card, along with a folder called NDS on the root of the sd card.
    The .nds game/file should be placed in the NDS folder to make it detectable.
     
  9. ds_2009

    Newcomer ds_2009 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I have the EXACT same problem !

    Its so annoying,isnt it???

    I have an old Xp computer,but how do you format it on Xp (I have a 2Gb Sandisk also)

    And how do you make sure its on the ROOT of the card [​IMG]
     

Share This Page