M3 Gba expansion pack

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by TheGoldenKing, Mar 12, 2009.

Mar 12, 2009

M3 Gba expansion pack by TheGoldenKing at 11:46 PM (1,625 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. TheGoldenKing
    OP

    Newcomer TheGoldenKing Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    So I bought a m3 gba expansion pack, but I don't know how to use cheats on the gba games. I downloaded the cheat file off the database and I put them on my sd but when i select the cheat file in the menu it doesn't give me a enable/disable cheats screen. I'm using the m3 Sakura dual firmware 1.34 if it helps, thanks in advance.
     
  2. hdofu

    Member hdofu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    you have to patch cheat files to gba games, you can use the m3 perfect software and patch a game for the perfect and it will let you use the games cheats
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you might wanna use touchpad for certain gba functions like this
    I havnt really messed with gba cheats in sakura

    but I have in touchpad so you just select the cheat file and once you boot the game you can select what cheats you want (you cannot select the cheat in the m3 menu, a different screen will pop up once you start the game for cheat selection)
     
  4. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    Watch this video from 0:55 to 2:05.



    *EDIT*
    You can get the GBA cheat files from dohclude's thread (Narin's cheat database is for NDS ROMs only).
     
  5. DaRealChrono

    Newcomer DaRealChrono Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I know you explained this to me once before using this video, and I meant to say...I did exactly as this video says, yet I still get the Language Error...and I know for a FACT I'm using the right cheat file, as I've tried every version...I'm certainly sure cheat files work for Pokemon FireRed, but I get the language error.

    Also, I've loaded the game in TouchPod, and the cheat file did show up, and it was the cheat file for FireRed, but it shown some cheat not even related to it. Like I said before I am 100000% certain it's the right cheat file...I got it from GBATemp Cheat wiki...
     
  6. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    So you're using Pokemon Fire Red? Which one, the (E) or (U) version? I'll try it out myself and see if I get the same error you're getting. If I succeed in loading the cheats I'll send you a PM with detailed info on what I did.
     
  7. DaRealChrono

    Newcomer DaRealChrono Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using the (U) version with the (U) version cheats. Number is 1636. Thanks for the help. [​IMG]
     
  8. DaRealChrono

    Newcomer DaRealChrono Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Any luck Densetsu? [​IMG]
     
  9. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    (On my screen it gets cut off after the "US" part)

    3. Turn the Cheat Switch on.

    4. Set the Loading Mode to "Patch Load" (not sure if this actually makes a difference, but this is the setting I had it on when it worked for me).

    5. Tap the OK button, and wait for about 30 seconds for the ROM to load. After the GBA splash screen, it you should see the cheat menu just like in the video at 2:00 minutes. If it's not working for you, then you're probably doing everything right, but maybe something's up with your flashcart...[​IMG]
     
  10. DaRealChrono

    Newcomer DaRealChrono Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks man, the reason I bumped is because I thought you couldn't figure it out, lol.

    I guess I'll have to try that particular ROM, I'm not certain if it was by Squirrels or not, I got it from a good site, but the rom wasn't labeled. I'm also still using Sakura 1.34, so I might just have to update.

    I would hope nothing is wrong with my Flashcart, as it's relatively new, and I haven't had any serious problems out of it, besides a few corruptions...

    I do appreciate the effort to help me figure this out, and I'll just try everything you listed...maybe the rom isn't as good as I thought, or mis-labeled.

    EDIT:

    Interesting...

    Well I tried to download the rom first, and it still did not work in 1.34, but after upgrading to 1.35, it magically started working. Did 1.34 ever support GBA cheats? Well, regardless, it now works, thanks to you. I very much appreciate you help!
     
  11. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    That's strange that it wouldn't work in 1.34 but it did in 1.35...I was using 1.34 on a US/EUR M3 real when I got it to work, and as far as I know, GBA cheats have always been supported on Sakura. But I'm glad to hear it works for you now! [​IMG] Maybe there was just something wrong with your 1.34 system files. Glad to be of help!
     

Share This Page