M3 GBA Expansion pack battery problem???

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Schizoanalysis, Mar 20, 2011.

Mar 20, 2011
  1. Schizoanalysis
    OP

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi all,


    I have a M3 GBA expansion pack (well, 2 actually).

    The one I use used to work fine, but now it won't boot up any GBA games.
    Also, my spare one has the same problem. They are quite old (1 or 2 years maybe).

    I presume the batteries are dead.

    I plugged the GBA pack into my DS Lite and charged it overnight -- but still no luck.

    Do I need to unsolder the battery and replace it?

    Has anyone done this?

    Which size battery is required?


    Thanks for reading!
     
  2. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming the battery is attached how they are in legit GBA/GBC games... lemee check my 3in1 real fast.

    Looks like it might be. In official ninendo carts, the battery it tack-welded in to place with 2 spots on the top and bottom contacts. I just pry it of with a flathead jewelers screwdriver.

    But in the 3in1, the battery is NO T what I thought it was. Official carts use a CR2025 (did the GBA use a 2016?) 3in1 uses a CR1220.

    Take a look at this thread, might help: http://gbatemp.net/t130659-how-to-tell-whi...e-3in1-you-have

    And yes, I know you don't have a 3in1. If this guide doesn't help you, take your expansion apart and see what size battery it has. I can tell you step by step how to get it replaced.
     
  3. IAmTheRad

    Member IAmTheRad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    Canada
    If you're using Sakura, you need to slide the game to the left a bit so an option file will exist for the game. Unlike DS games, it needs to know how to load it and won't even try to load without an option file. I had a similar issue, then when I had an .opt file for the games under Sakura the games would load up again.

    Another 'solution' would be to use YSM3 to play your GBA games. However, I don't know if saves copy properly using YSM3. They copy fine with Sakura if you load a game after it.
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The battery in the M3 GEP is not a rechargable, even when the M3 forum list it as one.

    You got 2 choices:
    A. Solder a new one in
    B. or use the tape method like the 3in1.
     
  5. Schizoanalysis
    OP

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi,

    Thanks all! I'll get a new battery and solder it in.

    I changed a battery in my M3 Perfect Lite once, I assume it will be the same process.

    I was jus confused as I read that the battery is supposed to be recharagable.

    Kind regards
     

Share This Page