Hacking Luma3D weird... stuff

Tattorack

Interstellar Explorer
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
267
Trophies
1
Age
30
Location
Calisto Prime Orbital
Website
tattorack.deviantart.com
XP
428
Country
Denmark
Alright, so I got bit of a head scratcher here.
Its been a while since I last touched my 3DS, but recently I wanted fiddle around with it again.
I went ahead and checked on the internet if there was a new version of Luma3D and a new version of the 3DS firmware. There were, on both counts.
So I updated my Luma3D CFW with the Luma3D updater. Everything went fine.
Then I proceeded to get the latest 3DS firmware update, making sure I was still in my EmuNAND, of course.
The update went fine.
Then I rebooted my 3DS and found out I lost all my apps. No Themely, no Homebrew, no Luma3D Updater, nothing.
My theme was also gone. I thought I booted into my SysNAND, so I went ahead and checked that.
Turns out my SysNAND got updated to version 11.6, but I still have a working EmuNAND at version 11.4, only without any of my stuff.
I can still do stuff on my EmuNAND; I just reinstalled Themely via a .cia and re-applied my theme with no problems.
Sooo.... what exactly happened??
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,146
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,094
Country
Australia
Does your sysNAND work? If it boots into a black screen you are probably using A9LH and need to follow https://3ds.guide/a9lh-to-b9s

If you get it working again, dump your emuNAND since as you can see it just gives you trouble for no gain. Follow https://3ds.guide/move-emunand - but if all your stuff is on sysNAND, only follow the steps that remove emuNAND from your card, not the ones that flash emuNAND to sysNAND (otherwise it would overwrite your stuff).
 
Last edited by Quantumcat,
  • Like
Reactions: ThoD

Tattorack

Interstellar Explorer
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
267
Trophies
1
Age
30
Location
Calisto Prime Orbital
Website
tattorack.deviantart.com
XP
428
Country
Denmark
Does your sysNAND work? If it boots into a black screen you are probably using A9LH and need to follow https://3ds.guide/a9lh-to-b9s

If you get it working again, dump your emuNAND since as you can see it just gives you trouble for no gain. Follow https://3ds.guide/move-emunand - but if all your stuff is on sysNAND, only follow the steps that remove emuNAND from your card, not the ones that flash emuNAND to sysNAND (otherwise it would overwrite your stuff).
Both EmuNAND and SysNAND work fine, which is how I found out that my SysNAND got updated instead of my EmuNAND somehow.
I've successfully updated my EmuNAND to the latest firmware. Now both my SysNAND and EmuNAND are 11.6. I'm also still able to install .cia files and use them just fine in my EmuNAND, so everything is working as it should be, except that I lost everything I had installed and all my saves prior to all this. This whole situation is really confusing.
 

Tattorack

Interstellar Explorer
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
267
Trophies
1
Age
30
Location
Calisto Prime Orbital
Website
tattorack.deviantart.com
XP
428
Country
Denmark
Oh ok, so your stuff isn't in sysNAND either? What do you see if you go to System Settings -> Data Management -> 3DS software? Do your games appear but greyed out with an X? Or not at all?
Nothing at all, except for the things I installed just now (Homebrew Launcher, Themely and MarioMaker 3D).
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,146
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,094
Country
Australia
The Nintendo 3DS folder is where your games are stored. Looks like they haven't gone but your console is acting like it has been formatted. Restore any NAND backups you have, that will at least have the Nintendo 3DS folder working, you may just have to reinstall tickets for any games you installed between when the backup was made and now.
 

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
New York
XP
2,751
Country
United States
Is doing this safe? What could go wrong if I do this experiment.
When the 3ds boots up through b9s, it checks the sd card to make sure boot.firm is there to load into whatever that boot.firm is (in most cases luma3ds). If you delete boot.firm, the 3ds will give up looking and turn itself off. I just want to make sure 100% that the 3ds still has b9s installed by making sure the 3ds doesn't boot up without that file. If you put the file back everything else goes back. It's like removing the .exe for a PC game. Doesn't work without it, but if you put it back the game works fine.
 

Tattorack

Interstellar Explorer
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
267
Trophies
1
Age
30
Location
Calisto Prime Orbital
Website
tattorack.deviantart.com
XP
428
Country
Denmark
When the 3ds boots up through b9s, it checks the sd card to make sure boot.firm is there to load into whatever that boot.firm is (in most cases luma3ds). If you delete boot.firm, the 3ds will give up looking and turn itself off. I just want to make sure 100% that the 3ds still has b9s installed by making sure the 3ds doesn't boot up without that file. If you put the file back everything else goes back. It's like removing the .exe for a PC game. Doesn't work without it, but if you put it back the game works fine.
Alright, the 3DS boots into SysNAND (I know this because in the settings app it will say "Sys 11.6 E" and in the EmuNAND it wont have "Sys" infron of it). No errors or anything of particular note happened.
 
Last edited by Tattorack,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Agreed, you can tell him you quit when you see him in court, (For defecation on property, charges)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    There's a difference in a abusive management rather than one drilling into you for messing up
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Told my last boss that I was resigning and he was confused and asked if I was serious 😭🤣
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My last boss got investigated for racial slurs and guess what happened to him
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I luckily haven't had a boss in over 20 years, (independent contractor) but the people I do work for, it's pretty much like they my bosses, and yea some can be assholes. But there has been many jobs I've walked off and mailed they're checks back to them.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Bosses should yell at workers for mess ups they just need to know the difference in abuse and punishment
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I don't abuse or curse at my employess, I feel like waving the gun around gets the point across just fine.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    A boss is basically a glorified baby sitter
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I respect one's that tells someone what to do clearly, warn them when they mess up and actually put work in with a crew
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    That's how all of my last managers have been in this job and my last one. Last time I had a manager where I was being micromanaged to hell and back was over a decade ago when I worked retail
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    My managers nowadays are perfectly fine assigning me a project and just checking in once every week or two
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I had to micromanage the managers
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    At my last job I (as an individual contributor, not a manager or supervisor or anything) used to be the one to tell my manager when I was traveling for work "hey I'm gonna be out of office between x and y dates, I got something on the other side of the country I'm gonna go work on"
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Which was not the normal dynamic for that role lmao
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Don't get to travel for my current job :(
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Had me started working 10 days in a row with different days off after that I was like no
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    On the bright side, I also don't even have to leave my house for my current job, so... could be worse
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some of the shift workers were so bad it held us up from 10pm to 10am
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    coming to the painful realization backing up my ps2's hdd to swap in a sata ssd, i need a faster more modern way to interface with old ide hard drives than using hdlgmanclient or ftp over network.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    NIC is only 10/100 right?
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    that was fast in they year 2000
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i have three network adapters 2 standard us ones with the ethernet and phone jack and one slimmer Japanese one with just a ethernet port. not sure if one would be faster than the other. i installed a sata adapter thing i got off temu for 3 dollars in the Japanese one thought, was surprised it actually works. but considering i got 18 games to go, gonna be a two day endeavor at this point.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    every time I read your username as wolfgang alchemist
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I still want to swap out the IDE board in the BBA I have for PS2, replace the aging IDE with a SATA drive as well
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: I still want to swap out the IDE board in the BBA I have for PS2, replace the aging IDE with a...