Homebrew Luma problems

AnhellOn

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
65
Country
Spain
Hi guys,
I am writing this post to know if anyone could help me with those screens that appeard while i am playing in my 2ds.
  • The first screen always appears always while i am playing MH4 after playing like 5 min
  • The second screen appears when i try to make a backup of my savedatas with Checkpoint or JSM
I have a OLD 2DS with 11.8 with 9.1 luma.
Thanks in advance for ur attention !
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20180816_204556.jpg
    IMG_20180816_204556.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 135
  • IMG_20180818_170537.jpg
    IMG_20180818_170537.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 110
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
0
XP
5,811
Country
United States
If your SD card is a Class 4, you should upgrade to one that's Class 10.

You should copy everything off your card, reformat it in FAT32 + 32 KB (with guiformat if bigger than 32 GB), and do a Full Write + Verify Test in H2testw while it's empty. Check if your card is fake or going bad.

Lastly, look in this list if perhaps your game is on there:
If it is, you may need to use FBI to Import Seed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: AnhellOn and Lacius

AnhellOn

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
65
Country
Spain
Check if you're running the latest version of Luma, you can do that by holding Select while booting. If it's not 9.1, update to the latest version, and see if that helps
I checked my 3ds just in case but it still appears that has luma 9.1 which i saw it was the latest release but thnks for the help anyways :)

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If your SD card is a Class 4, you should upgrade to one that's Class 10.

You should copy everything off your card, reformat it in FAT32 + 32 KB (with guiformat if bigger than 32 GB), and do a Full Write + Verify Test in H2testw while it's empty. Check if your card is fake or going bad.

Lastly, look in this list if perhaps your game is on there:
If it is, you may need to use FBI to Import Seed.
I did yesterday all that you said and today the files are being copied to the formatted sd hope it works now :)
Btw the card its not fake and i searched and its a class 10.However this takes forever to copy files xd
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
0
XP
5,811
Country
United States
I did yesterday all that you said and today the files are being copied to the formatted sd hope it works now :)
Btw the card its not fake and i searched and its a class 10.However this takes forever to copy files xd

Are you telling me* you think your card is not fake without proof? The only way I believe this is if you run it through H2testw. I treat all SD cards as fake whenever helping users troubleshoot their 3DS until they've proven themselves with that program otherwise.
 
Last edited by TurdPooCharger,
  • Like
Reactions: zacchi4k and Itzumi

zacchi4k

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
1,386
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Somewhere eating pizza
XP
1,408
Country
Italy
Are you telling me* you think your card is not fake without proof? The only way I believe this is if you run it through H2testw. I treat all SD cards as fake whenever helping users troubleshoot their 3DS until they've proven themselves with that program otherwise.
If it's a good brand name and they bought it from a trusted shop there's little reason to think it's fake, but you're right, testing doesn't hurt
 

AnhellOn

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
65
Country
Spain
Are you telling me* you think your card is not fake without proof? The only way I believe this is if you run it through H2testw. I treat all SD cards as fake whenever helping users troubleshoot their 3DS until they've proven themselves with that program otherwise.
I didnt check if the card was false cause i bought it through amazon and it is a samsung micro sd card with the box and everything that seemed legit.However,i download today an app called "SD Insight" in my android phone that says whether a sd card its legit or not.The app says that the manufacturer its Samsung so in this aspect im okay.I don´t want to do another test with H2testw cause it takes ages to do it but i should have checked when i did the first test with H2testw if the card was false or not.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TurdPooCharger

zacchi4k

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
1,386
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Somewhere eating pizza
XP
1,408
Country
Italy
I didnt check if the card was false cause i bought it through amazon and it is a samsung micro sd card with the box and everything that seemed legit.However,i download today an app called "SD Insight" in my android phone that says whether a sd card its legit or not.The app says that the manufacturer its Samsung so in this aspect im okay.I don´t want to do another test with H2testw cause it takes ages to do it but i should have checked when i did the first test with H2testw if the card was false or not.
I use a 64GB Samsung microSD card in my 3DS which I bought from Amazon that isn't fake either
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
0
XP
5,811
Country
United States
I didnt check if the card was false cause i bought it through amazon and it is a samsung micro sd card with the box and everything that seemed legit.However,i download today an app called "SD Insight" in my android phone that says whether a sd card its legit or not.The app says that the manufacturer its Samsung so in this aspect im okay.I don´t want to do another test with H2testw cause it takes ages to do it but i should have checked when i did the first test with H2testw if the card was false or not.

Ah. You may substitute with SD Insight for Android and Chrome OS and F3 for Linux and Mac OS. Those are valid flash memory checker programs.

The assumed default desktop or computer is Windows, so H2testw is mentioned first. As long as you check with one of those three and the card passes, that's fine. :)

If you have any further problems with the 3DS, you may need to replace the SD reader module or if you're using a micro to full size SD adapter, try a different adapter.
 

zacchi4k

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
1,386
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Somewhere eating pizza
XP
1,408
Country
Italy
Ah. You may substitute with SD Insight for Android and Chrome OS and F3 for Linux and Mac OS. Those are valid flash memory checker programs.

The assumed default desktop or computer is Windows, so H2testw is mentioned first. As long as you check with one of those three and the card passes, that's fine. :)

If you have any further problems with the 3DS, you may need to replace the SD reader module or if you're using a micro to full size SD adapter, try a different adapter.
I don't see how an adapter would create problems, since it literally just rewires the mSD pins to have a normal SD size. The only way would be if the adapter were of poor quality and shorted out the pins, but the one Samsung supplies are good quality (heck, even the two no-brand adapters I got on eBay for €1,50 are of good quality)
 
Last edited by zacchi4k,
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
0
XP
5,811
Country
United States
I don't see how an adapter would create problems, since it literally just rewires the mSD pins to have a normal SD size. The only way would be if the adapter were of poor quality and shorted out the pins, but the one Samsung supplies are good quality (heck, even the two no-brand adapters I got on eBay for €1,50 are good quality)

Wear and tear happens. More components mean more complexity. That adapter is no exception. I think there was thread recently where someone accidentally threw out his old 2DS and later found out his SD card adapter was the problem. It was some really sad stuff. :(
 

zacchi4k

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
1,386
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Somewhere eating pizza
XP
1,408
Country
Italy
Wear and tear happens. More components mean more complexity. That adapter is no exception. I think there was thread recently where someone accidentally threw out his old 2DS and later found out his SD card adapter was the problem. It was some really sad stuff. :(
Well I mean, it's definitely their fault, one is excepted to do at least some troubleshooting before making such a drastic decision (and even if the SD slot were broken, it could've been replaced with just a soldering iron, some solder wick and basic soldering skills)
 

AnhellOn

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
65
Country
Spain
If your SD card is a Class 4, you should upgrade to one that's Class 10.

You should copy everything off your card, reformat it in FAT32 + 32 KB (with guiformat if bigger than 32 GB), and do a Full Write + Verify Test in H2testw while it's empty. Check if your card is fake or going bad.

Lastly, look in this list if perhaps your game is on there:
If it is, you may need to use FBI to Import Seed.
Hi i just wanted to send this message to tell that now my 2ds is working perfectly fine and can do backups again.
Thnks a lot :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: TurdPooCharger

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Initial release; not too surprised there's a colour bug, really.
  • AlexMCS @ AlexMCS:
    new shoutbox huh? cool
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    Yeah I intentionally didn't mention you in that one because I wanted the message to actually be readable hahah
    from Zyvyn's point of view my reply to them will be cream instead
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    It also sends a forum notification when someone mentions you here, which is really cool if you arent paying attention to chat
  • sailr @ sailr:
    Мой адрес не дом и не улица
  • sailr @ sailr:
    Мой адрес - Советский Союз
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Anyway to move it back to the main page
  • MegalithAce @ MegalithAce:
    Oh woah
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    @kenenthk there isn't a way to put it back on the main page unfortunately.
    But you can bring the chat up from any page by clicking the tab in the bottom right corner
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Seems to be a bit glitchy on mobile doesn't ways want to enter a message
  • MegalithAce @ MegalithAce:
    Oh, there's no more thread sections?
  • MegalithAce @ MegalithAce:
    Now it's all prefix filters ig?
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    you should read through the announcement thread: https://gbatemp.net/threads/welcome-to-gbatemp-v8.600093/
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    it explains all this and more
  • MegalithAce @ MegalithAce:
    Awesome, thank you
  • MegalithAce @ MegalithAce:
    I'm still kinda new on this page because I am translating an NDS game solo lmfao
  • BORTZ @ BORTZ:
    is this the cool kids chat
    +3
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    My custom title's been cut off, it seems; odd, considering my title's not too long, I don't think.
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    i guess try setting it again? and see if it says its too long
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    I wrote it again, and...the site accepted it.
  • MegalithAce @ MegalithAce:
    Strange.
  • MegalithAce @ MegalithAce:
    Sometimes the messages are outdated
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Like the new update feels like old msn
    rooms
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    probably a migration bug then Richard, it happens
    Seriel @ Seriel: probably a migration bug then Richard, it happens