Lost save on acekard 2i

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by jimskeet2002, Mar 31, 2012.

Mar 31, 2012

Lost save on acekard 2i by jimskeet2002 at 9:53 PM (1,184 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. jimskeet2002
    OP

    Member jimskeet2002 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    Greece
    Hey
    I was playin chrono trigger on acekard on my 3ds and suddenly i booted the game and my save wont show up... It only lets me start new game... :/ the sav file is still in the micro SD as i checked. Anyone has any clue?
     
  2. CollosalPokemon

    Member CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United States
    Try this:

    Back up your save to your computer, start a new game, save, and see if the file name of the newly saved game (for whatever reason) is different from your backup. If the file name changed, rename and restore your previously backed up save to the AceKard 2i.
     
  3. jimskeet2002
    OP

    Member jimskeet2002 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    Greece
    Ok i will try this.

    EDIT: Oh no.... I try to copy the sav file and i get error message saying file corrupt :/ gg............... RIP save file....
     
  4. jimskeet2002
    OP

    Member jimskeet2002 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    Greece
    Okay.... Today another save file stopped working and appeared as corrupted.... Wtf is this??? Something i just noticed is that both save files were ruined just after using Colors DS homebrew app on my 3ds... Does this have to do anything with the save files???
     
  5. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    It could be just your microSD card going bad, unfortunately. I've had quite a few cheapo microSD cards go bad, and they all exhibited these kind of symptoms right before they stopped working entirely. My advice is you make an immediate backup of all the contents on your microSD, just in case.
     
  6. jimskeet2002
    OP

    Member jimskeet2002 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    Greece
    It is a sandisk microsd that came in package with the acekard 2i from zuzuchina. The only problem i have encountered is that i lost my save files 2 times and both save files were lost after using colors ds :-/
    That is strange
     
  7. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I have a problem where my whole card will randomly corrupt, taking out random roms.
    Just now it started taking my saves. It's a 4GB Kingston card, and I got two others at the same time and they have no problems.
     
  8. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    what class are those kingston cards, may I ask? the ones that were always corrupting on me were the class 2s, but after switching to class 4s, my cards so far have lasted at least twice as long as the previous ones (and are still kicking).
     
  9. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, apparently my 4GB one isn't even Kingston, just some generic no-name one.
    http://www.etcome.com/product/new-microsd-4gb-micro-sd-memory-card-tf-4-gb-4g-with-free-sd-adapter.html
    Pretty sure it was that.
     
  10. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    That's even worse. :wink:

    Any idea what class it is? it USUALLY says on the card, or the box at least (if you still have it)...
     
  11. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Never had a box, and it doesn't say on the card. Ech.
     
  12. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Ick. Well generally, those no-name brands are class 2, which in addition to having horrible read/write speed, just aren't very durable. Idk what your budget is, but you can actually find a class 10 32gb microSDHC card for less than $40 on sites like newegg. I wish I had known they were so cheap myself... a few months ago, I stupidly spent literally $100 on a class 4 32gb mciroSDHC card at Best Buy.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220547
     
  13. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    My budget is awful. If it was better, I'd have a DSTwo.
     
  14. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Ha, fair enough. I know how you feel... the only reason I'm lucky enough to have a DSTwo is because my gf bought it for me for my birthday.
     
  15. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    I'm working on getting one in the trading section now. :P
     

Share This Page