Loading Times

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by HoTsHoT89, Nov 19, 2008.

Nov 19, 2008

Loading Times by HoTsHoT89 at 7:28 PM (1,172 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. HoTsHoT89
    OP

    Member HoTsHoT89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Malaysia
    While waiting for the train to reach my destination, I got out my DS and thought of what to play. I was to wait for another 10 minutes, so I decided to play something short. After searching through my list I finally got Ouendan 2, then later a bit of TouhouDS, and I arrived at my stop.

    However, I never noticed how long my R4 takes to load ROMs. Time Hollow loads in less than 3 seconds in a single bar, where as the Nintendo DS Browser takes two bars to load, just slightly around 9 seconds. Why do load times differ with different games? I first thought about the size of the ROM, but hey, the Nintendo DS Browser's only about 9MB, where as Time Hollow takes up 128MB of space.

    Anyone with a good explanation for this?
     
  2. quim69

    Member quim69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Andorra
    If you think the R4 takes a long time you should try the DSTT - on some games (lego batman for ex.) it seems to take all day.
     
  3. HoTsHoT89
    OP

    Member HoTsHoT89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Haha never said that it took long, it's just the loading times aren't constant with every game. Why is it so?
     
  4. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think it depends on the type of patching the rom needs.
     
  5. Shichibukai

    Member Shichibukai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Teeworlds!
    Country:
    Spain
    Are you trimming the games?
     
  6. HoTsHoT89
    OP

    Member HoTsHoT89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I don't usually trim them, save for the Nintendo DS Browser ROM which automatically does it for me when I patch it to be used with the M3.
     

Share This Page