Loading a GBA game (Emerald) straight from 3in1?

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by 5000 Watts, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. 5000 Watts
    OP

    Newcomer 5000 Watts Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, all I want to do is migrate a Pokemon from Emerald on my 3in1 EZ flash expansion pack to Heart Gold on a retailcart.
    How is this possible?

    Firstly, I tried making the 3in1 a GBA Gamepak on its own by using this 3in1tools.exe thing which "sends" a GBA Rom to the MicroSD card and is supposed to send it to the 3in1 somehow but that didn't work.

    My hope was that I would turn the 3in1 into a GBA Gamepak then load it as an Emerald game and transfer the Pokemon to HeartGold. I would really appreciate any kind of help with this, especially from somebody who has had to go through it before.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    It is not possible.
     
  3. Clookster

    Banned Clookster Your Clookster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Suisse Romande
    Country:
    Switzerland
    It's not possible with EZ IV as well..? It's not possible at all..?
     
  4. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    No, since you cannot patch a retail cart.
     
  5. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    When you say the 3in1tools.exe thingy, what exactly are you using. You can turn your 3in1 into a "real" gba cart by using the GBA Exploader, IIRC.
     
  6. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Does not matter in that case.
    And it wouldn't be a "real" GBA cart.
     
  7. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm able to load my retail FireRed game and save into the NOR of the 3in1 and I am able to migrate them into Pearl.

    I can play FR in my DS with only the 3in1 inserted.
     
  8. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,697
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Straight to retail no for reasons already mentioned. Nothing stopping you from running a rom with the save from your retail card and flashing the save back after you got it done though.

    As the 3 in 1 uses a different save type to the original GBA titles the DS game expects it to use the same save type. You can patch a DS rom but not a DS cart, the patch for the DS rom can be found http://nds.cmamod.com/2009/07/07/pokepatch-v42-and-v5alpha3/
     
  9. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I have used one of Rudolph's tools (can't remember which one) to rip my retail cart and save, put it on a flashcart, run ExpLoader to put the game and save into NOR and have Pearl ask me to import from FireRed.
     
  10. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Why would you choose to transfer the Pokémon from the 3in1 rather than from the retail cart?
    You obviously were running a patched copy of Pearl on a Slot-1 flashcart, too.
     
  11. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    There are several reasons. Big fat GBA cartridges stick out of the little DSlite, I want to keep the pokemon that I have captured in FR on FR since I've failed the "gotta catch'em all" part of the game, I have a GBA Action Replay that lets me cheat if I want to, and if I want to play more than one GBA game, I don't have to carry around multiple GBA cartridges.

    No, I am not running a patched/edited/trimmed Pearl. Clean and verified.

    Edit: Found what's going on. I ripped my Pearl game and save to a AceKard. The AceKard lets me migrate using a 3in1. Swapped the AceKard with my original Pearl, and couldn't migrate.

    Edit2: I'm not sure if I played far enough in the retail cartridge to migrate, so take what I've just said with a grain of salt.
     
  12. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    It is not possible to get Pearl to show the "Migrate from Fire Red" option in the main menu if the rom is not patched.
    I guess if you even saw that option in the main menu, it means that AKAIO maybe auto-patches the rom if it detects a Pokémon game in the 3in1 or something. (if that's even possible)
     
  13. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    AKAIO does all the work. From here (http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/AKAIO#AKAIO):

    Does AKAIO support GBA Link mode?
    As of AKAIO 1.3 FINAL GBA Link mode is available on the Acekard 2 only and for the following games:
    NDS - Pokemon Diamond, Pearl. and Platinum
    GBA - Ruby, Sapphire, Emerald, Fire Red, and Leaf Green
    The GBA cart save to NDS game loading works behind the scenes. Make use of the in-game options to "link" with your GBA game, AKAIO will do the rest. Both the eWin and EZ3in1 are supported.
     
  14. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Then you can't say you were running an unpatched rom.
    AKAIO patched the rom before launching it.

    Still, it's nice to see AKAIO has native support for that.
     

Share This Page