Load Multiple Saves?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by matrix121391, Aug 15, 2008.

Aug 15, 2008

Load Multiple Saves? by matrix121391 at 11:17 PM (1,770 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. matrix121391
    OP

    Member matrix121391 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure if this hasn't already been developed or if the idea has been pitched, but I was wondering if it was possible to make a homebrew that allows games to load different .sav files. I'm currently playing Bangai-O Spirits and there are just so many custom maps I want to try, but unfortunately, the game can only hold up to 24. I want to start a new .sav file without having to download another copy of the game so I'll have 24 more slots available for me. Would this homebrew or application be possible?
     
  2. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Some flashcarts support it, get one. [​IMG]
     
  3. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,746
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    While I know of no apps built for the purpose there are several homebrew apps capable of manipulating the file system.
    DSOrganize, DSlinux and perhaps even the dos/command prompt for want of a better word implementations.
     
  4. matrix121391
    OP

    Member matrix121391 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    United States
    Which flashcarts and how does it work? Does CycloDS have it? That's the one I'm hoping to get.
     
  5. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, and I think the SCDS1 too, I don't know much more than those two. Maybe the Acekard R.P.G.
     
  6. matrix121391
    OP

    Member matrix121391 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much!
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't know the CycloDS Evo supported multiple save files...

    Regardless, all you really have to do is use DSOrganize to rename your save files as needed like FAST mentioned. For instance, maybe call your rom "Bangai.nds" and your two save files "Bangai1.sav" and "Bangai2.sav", renaming one of them to just "Bangai.sav" before launching the *.nds file.
     
  8. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    If you want to, you could just make another folder for that game and put that save into that folder. Repeat until either memory is full or you have enough Saves.

    This is pretty stupid. [​IMG] I don't do it but thought of it.
     
  9. JBates

    Newcomer JBates Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    on this train of thought, if you have a ton of space on your microsd, it would be easy (and wouldn't require any file renaming in order to switch saves on the fly) to have multiple copies of the rom, with different names, and then each of your saves corresponding to the copies of the rom.
     
  10. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah. If you only play like 5 games max. at a time, it's pretty easy. Although I recommend it for 4GB+.
     
  11. matrix121391
    OP

    Member matrix121391 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    United States
    Can anyone confirm that the CycloDS supports multiple saves?
     
  12. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Read the review...

    Yes, there is.
     
  13. matrix121391
    OP

    Member matrix121391 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    United States
    I read the review when it first came out. Must've slipped my mind because I wasn't looking for that feature when I was reading it. Sorry.

    Edit: I just reread the review and I can't find anything on it. Maybe I missed something. Could you direct me to the right portion of the review?
     
  14. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It doesnt per se. It currently has its default save path (sav in same folder as rom) and a custimizable "alternative" which can be swapped to in the settings.
     
  15. matrix121391
    OP

    Member matrix121391 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    United States
    So technically it's like redirecting where the game loads the .sav from?
     
  16. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Exactly, Which does work like multiple save slots, but it wasnt designed for that.
     
  17. matrix121391
    OP

    Member matrix121391 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    United States
    That's one more reason for me to get a CycloDS... But for $53 bucks... hum...
     
  18. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    The SupercardDS1 is cheap and has some of the same features, but you need to be paitient, waiting for it and the program it self. So I would like a CycloDS too, but damn 50 bucks is too much for me now.
     

Share This Page