1. dsdork

    OP dsdork Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    I searched and can't seem to get a good answer for this. The Beginner's Guide stops just before getting into this topic :blink:
    I'm currently using a fat formatted external drive for playing backups and the 4 gig file size limit is turning out to be a pain. Before I invest in upgrading my 60 gig internal drive, I'd like to explore loading the backups in MM from my home server.

    I read somewhere that PS3 Media Server was the server side app. I installed it but I can't find anything but media options in the config. Any advice or links to tutorials?

    I'm on Rogero 4.6 + COBRA and the latest MM.
     
  2. Ryupower

    Ryupower Brood
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,973
    Country:
    United States
    it would be TO slow to play games over a network, ps3 wifi is bad ans very slow
    wired might not work aswell
    you MUST have the game installed on the ps3 internal if there files OVER 4gb
     
    dsdork likes this.
  3. KDH

    KDH GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    United States
    The Program you need is "ps3netsrv". It's included in the latest multiMAN download. Go here to see how to set it up. It is command line only.
     
    dsdork likes this.
  4. dsdork

    OP dsdork Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the prompt and informative responses. I guess I'll setup a slickdeals alert for a cheap 1TB laptop drive. I'll have to read up on moving to a new drive.
     
  5. Tomobobo

    Tomobobo Champion.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,262
    Country:
    United States
    Don't listen to Ryupower, you can use ps3netsrv and it will work well over the network. You must have a cobra enabled cfw, but you already have that.
     
  6. marcus134

    marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Country:
    Canada
    you're mixing up ps2 and ps3, the ps3 has gigabit Ethernet which is much faster than the bluray drive or a 5400 rpm laptop drive.


    I did a tutorial that got buried out cause of lack of interest
    http://gbatemp.net/threads/prodg-setup-how-to-boot-a-game-from-a-network-location.354580/

    I do have to mention that you either need a DEX firmware or rebug rex ( rex let you play CEX games in "dex mode" without patching)
     
    dsdork likes this.
  7. dsdork

    OP dsdork Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    THANK YOU!

    I have a GB network and ample drive space on a 7200 RPM drive. My issue is that I have a Mac (hackintosh) server. I have a PC I can fire up when I want to play games and have it pull from a mapped drive on the mac I guess.

    About the firmware, I've have my ps3 for just over a week so I'm a huge noob. I'll have to read up on "DEX firmware or rebug rex" and see how it compares to what I have with Rogero 4.6 + cobra CFW.
     
  8. marcus134

    marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Country:
    Canada
    I believe there was another way for cobra user with the cobra cfw+mm and netserv
     
  9. dsdork

    OP dsdork Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    I'll take a look and see if I can figure it out. Thanks again!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - net_host, backups, network