Live Vision Cam works

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by KiiWii, Mar 14, 2011.

Mar 14, 2011

Live Vision Cam works by KiiWii at 11:17 AM (1,081 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. KiiWii
    OP

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,167
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I though for a joke I'd try play a cam game on my ps3, I remembered that the Vision Cam from my 360 would work with the PS3, and under accessory settings it does, but once I load Yoostar 2 the cam light stays on, but it says "playstation eye not found"

    I have PS3 60GB Kmeaw 3.55 spoofed to 3.60 if any one has any suggestions? Otherwise I might pop down town and pick up a sony one.

    Cheers in advance [​IMG]
     
  2. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sounds intentional to make you buy the sony stuff.
    be interesting if you could change the vid & pid of the microsoft one to look like a sony!
     
  3. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,247
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, it's a ploy to limit it to just the PSEye.
     
  4. KiiWii
    OP

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,167
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Apparently the VID & PID are:

    Product ID: 0x0294
    Vendor ID: 0x045e

    How would it be possible to rewrite these?

    First thing that springs to mind *if* it were possible to write to it, is to use those Jailbreak dongle tools (something like FLiP) to extract the firmware on the camera/edit it and rewrite it.

    But I have no freaking clue.
     
  5. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you could open the camera and see if it has an eeprom - starting with 24 or 93.
    or google a datasheet on the main chip incase it has configurable pids inside.
     
  6. KiiWii
    OP

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,167
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bit the bullet and managed to buy one second hand for £6, cheers for the support though steve-p, I wonder if oneday in the far future this might be followed up/dredged up and found to be continuable.
     
  7. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    in the future the pid-check probably will be patched out of the firmware!
     
  8. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    just because the camera works doesnt mean the specs are the same, almost all of the games were only programmed to work correctly only with the playstation eye
    adding a foreign camera would screw everything up
     

Share This Page