Launching games from the SD Card

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Liink, Mar 31, 2009.

Mar 31, 2009

Launching games from the SD Card by Liink at 3:32 AM (2,224 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Liink
    OP

    Newcomer Liink Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey guys,

    Just a little confused on exactly how to get installed games to run off an SD Card when you copy them over? They Fail to Launch?
    I followed kongsnutz guide, originally trying to follow the one to keep the trucker signed bug but the installation for the System Update 4.0E failed (ret-1 error or sumthing?)
    So i went about making sure i had ciosrev8 installed and updated from the system menu.
    I can still install wads fine through the homebrew channel, and ive used IOSDowngrader after updating and repatched with the IOS60 patcher but still nothing.
    Is there a step im missing.

    Im sorry if this has been answered before, the board is goin crazy with USB Loader topics it makes it hard to find anything.

    Cheers.
     
  2. Liink
    OP

    Newcomer Liink Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    no one has any idea? Surely theres something im missing or doing wrong. A link or anything would be greatly appreciated.
     
  3. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    Skip waninkoko's loader. Install customIOS 36_R8 (very important you do this first) then update to 4.0 using the official nintendo method (far less likely to brick). Then install the patched ios60 and you can boot custom channels no prob.

    Oh, of course make sure HBC is installed on your wii first

    get all files and tutorial here http://wehackwii.pbwiki.com/News+-+System+Menu+v4 BUT skip steps 8-10!

    i've done it and it works perfectly.
     
  4. Liink
    OP

    Newcomer Liink Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    Ive already updated to 4.0 and i already had ciosrev8 installed (i now have rev9 installed and the usb launcher is working perfectly, thank u waninkoko [​IMG]). but its just the sd card game launching that is not working. I can copy to it, but i cant launch games. Surely theres something missing, i obviously havnt screwed myself by updating because iso launching and wad manager thru hbc is still working.

    Anyone else had a similar problem?
     
  5. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    did you install patched ios60 ?
     
  6. Liink
    OP

    Newcomer Liink Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    Well yer? i like to think i did.
    It goes through and gets upto 15/15 but never prompts me to reboot. I only patch IOS60 and not 61 or the shop channel (coz i have a PAL wii).
    Should IOS60 get to a point to prompt me to reboot? i thought that may be the case but by it saying 15/15 DONE seems to me that its actually finished.
     
  7. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    yes it should say to reboot?
     
  8. Liink
    OP

    Newcomer Liink Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    Would there be any reason as to why it would hang. clashing ios that i need to install, can anyone shed any light on this? Im really stumped coz it seems ive done everything right...
     
  9. JJBro1

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    if your trying to launch pirated vc games off of the sd menu i've been told that you can't do that but i hope they're wrong.
     
  10. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    they are [​IMG]
     
  11. JJBro1

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    well then how do you do that with preloader and the ability to run backups off of the disc channel (wii and gcn)?
     
  12. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    dunno i use a chip [​IMG]
     
  13. JJBro1

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    well then who told you its possible? can you link me?
     
  14. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    follow the tutorial i posted in post 3 trust me it works. i can run both pirated and official stuff off sdhc card, the sd menu appears on my wii and it's still at 4.0. got usb launcher running, i can still install wads. i've got the best of both worlds.
     
  15. Liink
    OP

    Newcomer Liink Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    Wait what, so u cant play installed wads that were on your wii hdd on your sd card? i thought that was the point of the patching? I cant believe im still having this problem, i swear ive read people have had it working...
     
  16. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    yes you can just move them to sd card. i did it myself now i have 1500 blocks free all my ww/vc games run from sd card now.
     
  17. chr0m

    Member chr0m GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    Australia
    Any way to get region free sd channel launching?
    My NTSC channels only work from nand and not SD
     
  18. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    don't think it's possible
     
  19. Liink
    OP

    Newcomer Liink Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    I still cant believe im still having a problem with this! Ive read reports of the IOS60 patcher hanging for upto 60 mins to finish the install. Why is this? Is there another method. A direct wad instal or something? I have just installed preloader (all this stuffing around with my wii really makes me want to have this failsafe thing on it) but i read i cant install ios60 now? Does anyone have any idea what i could do to get this SD launching working, its the only reason i updated!
     

Share This Page