Homebrew Launcher/menu replacement?

meepdarby

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
84
Country
United States
Has anyone developed a way to use a different home menu system on the wii u . For example on the original xbox you can use XBMC as a dashboard and on the Xbox 360 you can use aurora.

Has anyone figured out an outright home-screen replacement? I'm thinking through a community effort something much faster and more modern can be developed without the title limits and much deeper home brew integration.
 

HRudyPlayZ

The panda god that does everything
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
331
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
1,539
Country
France
Could be done.
I have this kind of project in my list that i'd want to do...
For now, though, i'm working on the PSVita... If people could have something similar to lua-player-plus on the Vita on the Wii U, that would make it way easier for me to port my work once it'd be done ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Gunstorm

SuperDan

Im Aware ... Im Unaware
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
2,922
Trophies
1
Location
Londoner , Living In Louisiana ...
XP
4,371
Country
United States
There a WiiU Dark Mode & it Looks great ( Much better than white ) but you have to also turn it on each time you start the wiiu ............. i wish someone could make it look better and if possible change the menu music as i just hate it on WiiU .....

https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-dark-mode-for-the-wii-u-menu.537058/

cls8nubvbcu21.jpg
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,738
Trophies
1
XP
12,809
Country
United States
might be able to boot directly into dark menu with cbhc by replacing homebrew launcher with the plugin manager. that way it will boot into it thinking it's the homebrew launcher. I tried the dark menu. the one above does not work on ntsc 5.5.1 systems and the other one freezes the system. several reports about both responses.
 

n00bsaib0t

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2015
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Phoenix, AZ
XP
659
Country
United States
This isn't towards you but Retroarch is the worse kind of interface on earth. Retroarch deserves social isolation and absolute destruction.
The XMB is in the top 3 of user interfaces for me and the Switch interface is serviceable, so Retroarch is doing alright for itself. You make it sound like Retroarch is as bad as the final 360 or launch Xbox One interfaces.
 

meepdarby

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
84
Country
United States
The XMB is in the top 3 of user interfaces for me and the Switch interface is serviceable, so Retroarch is doing alright for itself. You make it sound like Retroarch is as bad as the final 360 or launch Xbox One interfaces.


Retroarch is so bad that a lot of people use a frontend so that they don't have to open it.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,738
Trophies
1
XP
12,809
Country
United States
you don't have to open up the menu on the nes, snes, or genesis minis as long as reset is reset. on the genesis mini, it isn't by default. I have the ozone (switch) look. the xmb look sucks imo. I don't like the xmb, because they just threw things together without any logical sorting mechanism, at least on the ps3 and the psp (not sure about retroarch itself).

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

iirc, reset is going into the retroarch menu on the genesis mini by default. it's holding the reset button down for two seconds I believe. I changed everything. even though the xmb sucks, ozone isn't really too much better. it can be confusing.
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,185
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,914
Country
United States
you don't have to open up the menu on the nes, snes, or genesis minis as long as reset is reset. on the genesis mini, it isn't by default. I have the ozone (switch) look. the xmb look sucks imo. I don't like the xmb, because they just threw things together without any logical sorting mechanism, at least on the ps3 and the psp (not sure about retroarch itself).

I'm with ya, xmb has always been a very ugly UI to me with no real rhyme or reason why certain things are where they are. I much prefer the Ozone UI, (which isn't perfect either, but it is definitely better).
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,738
Trophies
1
XP
12,809
Country
United States
yeah, it's the system settings thing that's messed up. system info is like in the middle while in ozone it's at the bottom where it should be.

here's my genesis mini with retroarch (not in menu):

20200813_225437_HDR.jpg
 

n00bsaib0t

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2015
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Phoenix, AZ
XP
659
Country
United States
Retroarch is so bad that a lot of people use a frontend so that they don't have to open it.
That’s a pretty absurd statement to make. Preferring one interface doesn’t mean the other is the worst one ever. I mean, I could turn around and say Retroarch is so good that the vast majority of its users use one of the provided interfaces. I wouldn’t though because I don’t just make shit up with no facts to back it up like that.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: You mean fanjob