last 3 backups keep freezing

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by patoons, Feb 14, 2010.

Feb 14, 2010

last 3 backups keep freezing by patoons at 6:14 PM (1,341 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. patoons
    OP

    Newcomer patoons Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    the last 3 backups I burned keep on freezing at a certain point early on in the game. the games are

    super monkey ball step & roll
    no more heroes 1
    ea sports active.

    i am using memorex dvd+R. i have other games burnt on the same discs from the same pack (nsmbw, prime trilogy) and they work fine.

    i tried on neogamma 6 and 7, same thing. monkey ball freezes while loading the 3rd stage. nmh1 freezes during the training. ea sports my wife uses so im not sure at what point it freezes. also when it freezes a loud sound plays from the tv.

    could burning at 8x be the cause of this? or is it the dvd+R that i'm using?
     
  2. patoons
    OP

    Newcomer patoons Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    anyone?
     
  3. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    possibly a bad iso? burning at 8x wont hurt all mine are done at 16x try neogamma r8 rc2/3 and see what happens
     
  4. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I've always had bad experiences with DVD+R, I only use DVD-R and I've never had issues (even though I've long since moved to usb loaders)
     
  5. patoons
    OP

    Newcomer patoons Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    I would love to get USB loading going, however, my Wii is nowhere near my PC so moving my ex hdd back and forth would be a pain..

    could USB loading work with a flash drive? cuz ill go out and get a 32 gig flash drive now.
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,941
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    It should work with almost anything you plug into the USB port
     
  7. patoons
    OP

    Newcomer patoons Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    oh wow, nice. is there anything i'd need to do to set this up? or just load ISOs onto a flash and get the appropriate homebrew app to run?
     
  8. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,941
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    The only thing an USB loader needs is a cIOS, which you already have.

    So basically, all thats left is the preparation of the drive (which can be as simple as creating a "wbfs" folder in the root and placing the ISOs there)
     
  9. patoons
    OP

    Newcomer patoons Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    nice. so now to find a cheap flash drive or micro SD card (i have a usb stick with a micro sd slot)
     
  10. patoons
    OP

    Newcomer patoons Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    how do i prepare the drive? i hooked up my external hdd to it, and created the wbfs folder in the root and put 2 ISOs there, and i got a message saying i need to format the partition.

    now, i have music, movies, photos etc on my hard drive, i dont want to lose them. is there a way to make it so it reads from 1 folder maybe, and i wont have to format?

    also, can i share the ISO folder on my pc for it to load ISOs wirelessly?? just a thought
     

Share This Page