Lameboy is not emulating correctly?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Sora de Eclaune, Feb 17, 2011.

Feb 17, 2011
  1. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    My copy of Kid Dracula for the Game Boy stopped working, so I got the Lameboy emulator and a copy of the ROM and placed them on my R4. Unfortunately, I cannot get the sound to work. Even with the volume of the Nintendo DS turned all the way up, no sound can be heard when playing Kid Dracula. I have tested Lameboy with the ROMs of other games, and this problem is not present. It is only with Kid Dracula. As I enjoyed the music of Kid Dracula and dislike playing games without sound, this is a huge problem.

    Is there...
    A.) A version of Lameboy higher than 0.13?
    B.) Any way to fix this problem myself?
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    It's a problem with the emulator itself, not the ROM or your DS/R4.

    And as far as I know 0.12 is the latest/highest version:
    http://lameboy.nutki.com/
     
  3. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniacâ„¢

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Lameboy 0.13? Are you using that? it is fake...

    twiztidsinz is right, 0.12 is the latest version. And he is right again, it's the emu. Not all emulators run everything perfect, you know.
     
  4. Mesiskope

    Banned Mesiskope Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    Union Hotel
    Country:
    United States
    Fuck kid dracula, what about Shantae?
     
  5. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    0.12? The version I have says 0.13. Odd. It does have an odd start-up menu that I can only attribute to being hacked in by whoever distributed the emulator, so that may be it.

    I guess I shall have to find Kid Dracula for another system. Thank you anyway.
     
  6. Mesiskope

    Banned Mesiskope Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    Union Hotel
    Country:
    United States
    the nes version works fine, try that.
     
  7. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    I am. I quite like it, but the flickering sprites in on the bottom of the screen are giving me a headache. I have tried it with both nesDS and nesDS EX in ORG mode, and both give the same result.
     
  8. Recorderdude

    Member Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    0.12 runs it nice WITH all sound.

    you probly had GnuboyDS or something renamed to lameboy.
     
  9. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    I have just tried another version of lameboy, from the official site. It does not fix the problem, AND it appears to be the same emulator I was using.

    I shall try another download of the game. Maybe that shall fix it.

    Edit) That did not fix it, either!
     
  10. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    0.12 does NOT have sound.

    Maybe YOU had something else?
     
  11. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe they used the Japanese release of the game.

    I'm afraid to use the Japanese version, as I can see in the English version that it has quite a bit of text....
     
  12. Recorderdude

    Member Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    Heh, nah, I hadn't used it in a while and I thought I remembered it having sound for KD, nevermind [​IMG]

    You could try the others like DS_GBC and Gnuboy DS but those probly work less...
     

Share This Page