Homebrew RELEASE LaiNES - A cycle accurate NES Emulator

  • Thread starter Deleted-442439
  • Start date
  • Views 43,475
  • Replies 132
  • Likes 35
D

Deleted-442439

Guest
OP
LaiNES is not maintained anymore.
Kevoot is now working on NESalizer.



-Thread on behalf of @Kevoot as he can't yet post links-


687474703a2f2f692e696d6775722e636f6d2f327475446c43772e706e67


Hello all,

Just finished up on my first version of LaiNES, originally created by AndreaOrru https://github.com/AndreaOrru/LaiNES

I've tested with LoZ and SMB3 and they run fullspeed, no audio crackling whatsoever.

Why this emu over the others: - It has a pretty sweet GUI, and runs fullspeed without sound breaking

Controls:
- Direction -> DPad (Joystick too but there's a weird bug on the x-axis)
- A -> A
- B -> B
- Select -> Minus
- Start -> Plus
- Program Menu -> R

Directions to run: - On the release page

Downloads:

Releases: https://github.com/Kevoot/LaiNESwitch/releases

Source: https://github.com/Kevoot/LaiNESwitch



Changelog:

Update 1.4.0

Threading has been removed as there was a deadlock I had neither the time nor patience to track down. Speed is still relatively good, same compatibility as before. Mapper7 is still experimental, and unlikely to entirely work.

IMPORTANT: place the res folder on the root of your sdcard or it'll crash. Will fix paths in a patch asap


Update 1.3.0

Folders no longer have limits, have fun scrolling through your mega ROM packs!


Update 1.2.0

Threading has been added, tested with LoZ, runs full speed.


Update 1.1.0
Fixed:

  • Crashes for all games which loaded and ran only briefly
  • Menu bugs (mostly by removing most of them as they weren't needed)
Added:

  • Stability
  • Exit cleanly
  • Scaffolding for render quality improvements for when hw acceleration becomes available
Next up:

  • Add support for 2 players
  • Make the menus even better


First release 1.0.0
Most games loading, some oddballs not so much. Tested with SMB3 and LOZ and working fullspeed.

Tested on:
5.0.2 - Works!

Controls:

Direction -> DPad
A -> A
B -> B
Select -> Minus
Start -> Plus
Menu -> R
To Use:

Extract to sdcard:/switch/LaiNes
Place ROMs in sdcard:/switch/LaiNes/game
Bugs:

You can use Joystick for directions as well, but bugs out when going left.
ROM browsing menu can't go back. So, make sure you choose right the first time or you'll have to relaunch. (sorry.)
 
Last edited by Cyan, , Reason: Updated links, added changelog, added info about nesalizer

Kevoot

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
410
Country
United States

JJTapia19

I fight for my friends.
Member
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
2,170
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
2,380
Country
Puerto Rico
Just tested on 5.0.2 and I'm just getting a blackscreen for some reason :unsure:

Edit: I messed up the roms directory :rofl2:

Edit2: nope. After following the correct rom path still blackscreen :unsure:
 
Last edited by JJTapia19,

ThirdEyeCx

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 4, 2018
Messages
39
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
199
Country
United States
On 4.1.0 I just get a black screen after I select it in the HBL. The icon for it also shows an exclamation mark rather than a question mark like with other apps
 
Last edited by ThirdEyeCx,

Kevoot

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
410
Country
United States
Just tested on 5.0.2 and I'm just getting a blackscreen for some reason :unsure:

Edit: I messed up the roms directory :rofl2:
Did that get it sorted out for you?

Same I follow the instructions to the point on 5.0.2
On 4.1.0 I just get a black screen after I select it in the HBL
wait, im also getting a black screen.
Fixed. Forgot to include the res folder, so no images loaded. Whoops. Give it another go, extract to sdcard/switch/LaiNes
Roms still go in the game folder
 

GalaxyYT

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
112
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
586
Country
Canada
Did that get it sorted out for you?




Fixed. Forgot to include the res folder, so no images loaded. Whoops. Give it another go, extract to sdcard/switch/LaiNes
Roms still go in the game folder
That fixed it. Thanks. (also thanks for including the font.ttf file so I can use a custom font :P)
 

Kevoot

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
410
Country
United States
Known issues so far:
- Joystick is wonky still, use the DPad for now.
- Speed seems to be at 120% for some folks, I'll take a look and adjust the framerate in the next release
- Freezes arbitrarily in some games - Had this issue in testing on a handful of games. A number of them were solved with a few changes, but it looks like Mario and LoZ have the issue after playing for about a minute. I'll take a look ASAP.

Thanks for the feedback folks!
 

JJTapia19

I fight for my friends.
Member
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
2,170
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
2,380
Country
Puerto Rico
Fixed. Forgot to include the res folder, so no images loaded. Whoops. Give it another go, extract to sdcard/switch/LaiNes
Roms still go in the game folder
Thanks! now it's working. I quickly tested 3 games but they all had problems :(

Mega Man: Freezes at the beginning of each stage.
Mega Man 2: Same as Mega Man 1. Couldn't get past 30 seconds of gameplay.
Mike Tyson's Punch Out!!: Get's instantly stuck after selecting the rom.
 

GalaxyYT

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
112
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
586
Country
Canada
Known issues so far:
- Joystick is wonky still, use the DPad for now.
- Speed seems to be at 120% for some folks, I'll take a look and adjust the framerate in the next release
- Freezes arbitrarily in some games - Had this issue in testing on a handful of games. A number of them were solved with a few changes, but it looks like Mario and LoZ have the issue after playing for about a minute. I'll take a look ASAP.

Thanks for the feedback folks!
I'm having a few issues as well:
Super Mario Bros + Duck Hunt: doesn't boot, just freezes the menu
SMB3: Freezes right when the "WORLD 1 --- MARIO x4" text is about to disappear. (and the game is also at 120%.)
I'm on 5.0.2.
Edit: Just tried Zelda 1, game runs fine at 100% speed with no audio issues.
edit2: zelda froze mid game as well
 
Last edited by GalaxyYT,

Kevoot

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
410
Country
United States
Seems to run just fine on a Tegra X1 Shield TV though:

Good to see it running so well. The performance core isn't cycle accurate, there are tradeoffs for that speed boost.

(But seriously, it's pretty goddamn good)

I'll see what I can do with it but my skills aren't quite up to par (by a long shot) with the likes of byuu. More than likely it's be an snes9x port.
 
  • Like
Reactions: whateverg1012

cagycee

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
562
Country
United States
Known issues so far:
- Joystick is wonky still, use the DPad for now.
- Speed seems to be at 120% for some folks, I'll take a look and adjust the framerate in the next release
- Freezes arbitrarily in some games - Had this issue in testing on a handful of games. A number of them were solved with a few changes, but it looks like Mario and LoZ have the issue after playing for about a minute. I'll take a look ASAP.

Thanks for the feedback folks!

Everything you said is actually all I dealt with too. Too many times it froze. No criticism attended, I am very grateful for this release and you have done a swell job, however the most known bug so far I'm experiencing is games freezing from time to time. I tried both Super Mario Bros. 3 and Legend of Zelda, The. The firmware I'm using is 5.0.2. Other than that, I'm not having any black screen or framerate issues. Plays at 100% speed. Audio is perfect. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hondyn
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: I'd rather just have my own equipment instead of not knowing whose sweaty balls were on it