Keep getting error -1017 when trying to install the cios for backup lo

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Grav, Oct 29, 2008.

  1. Grav
    OP

    Newcomer Grav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Here's what I've tried so far with knowitall's help

    Knowitall If you downgraded with IOS Downgrader then you have a cIOS installed. BTW, you might want to try installing the ios16. Then, you want to use the new cIOS_fix that can be found on this thread. After this, use cIOS Uninstaller. Next, use the IOS Downgrader. Finally, use install the launcher .3 package.

    Grav Did all that, but the cios installer thing is still doing the same error -1017 crap. at 3.2U.

    Knowitall Use the cIOS downgrader to downgrade to 3.3U not 3.2U. Some people that tell you to go to 3.2U and that it is the best are morons.
    Grav did that just now, still -1017

    Knowitall Install, with wad manager 1.3 ios16 version, the cios_fix. This can be found in djtaz's signature.

    Grav still a whole bunch of -1017

    Knowitall If you successfully installed cios_fix, use cIOS downgrade to go to version 3.3U. If you have not successfully installed the cios_fix let me know.

    Grav I'm at 3.3U and the cios fix is installed. i have no clue what i'm doing wrong

    Knowitall Also, what I did, was installed IOS 37 in addition to ios16. I installed the fix and then used cIOS Uninstaller, then IOS Downgrader. Your Wii is no different then mine. So, I am confident we will get throught this. yaynds.gif

    Grav installed 37 and 16, then the fix, cios uninstalled 249, then downgraded from 3.3U to 3.3U. still the same old 1017

    Knowitall OK, well, first you should definitely NOT have had 249 installed at all. This is what the underlying problem has been from the get go. Let me ask you a question, are you talking about the cIOS uninstaller found on Waninkoko's website?

    Grav After I install the cios_fix, and then use the ininstaller, it reports I have 249 on there and removes it. even after that, though, it doesn't work. yes i'm referring to the cios uninstaller from waninkoko

    Knowitall Save all of the game file saves you have on your Wii, then reformat. Be sure to remove the shop channel before you reformat. I'm at a loss, dude, sorry I could not be of more assistance.

    Have no clue what else to do, would prefer not to reformat unless it would guarantee to fix whatever problem i'm having.
     


  2. Grav
    OP

    Newcomer Grav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    come on somebody's gotta know what the problem is and how to fix it without wiping my wii clean.
     
  3. Grav
    OP

    Newcomer Grav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone have this problem as well? Is there anything I can do besides formatting?
     
  4. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Are you using the SD instalation or the WiFi instalation??? I couldn't do the WiFi so tryed the SD and in the first attemp, voila..!! worked [​IMG]
     
  5. Grav
    OP

    Newcomer Grav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    i'm doing the sd. i'll try the wifi and see if that helps.
     
  6. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
  7. weirdfate

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    im getting this error to and i have ciso_fix installed and i have downgraded to 3.3u
    im thinking its time to spend some money and get a mod chip!!
     
  8. knowitall599

    Banned knowitall599 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    United States
    Heavens no, do not get a modchip! that would be a waste of your money at this point. Plus, it might not work because of the softmods you may have made to your Wii.
     
  9. weirdfate

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    ok so what could i do to get this to work?

    as it stands now i got the semibrick fixed but now i cant even install the older backup loader and ciso
    im guessing that the iso's are still patched from the update and the only way to fix that is to find them on older disks and install them
     
  10. knowitall599

    Banned knowitall599 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    United States
    You are right on target. Except that you need ios16. Then, you need a special verion of Wad Manager. Install cio_fix with this new version of WAD Manager. Also, the cios fix should be called something else because there are two of them. These files can be found in djtaz's signiture file.
     
  11. weirdfate

    Member weirdfate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    i got the files out of there and did it like that and im still getting the error

    i want to try and convert the ciso installer into a wad to install it with the ios16 wad manager but cant find the tool to do thie, or will this not work and im doing something wrong witht the way it is now?

    what version firmware should i downgrade to?
    should i install the ciso for Backup loader 0.3 via homebrew or should i send it with tcploader?
     
  12. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    i'm having the same problem, but i can still run games, just not zelda.iso
     
  13. -Unknown-

    Newcomer -Unknown- Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Canada
    FYI, I had a similar problem. It revolved around IOS249 (really a cIOS, but shows up as IOS249) not uninstalling properly, even though I uninstalled it using WAD Manager and DVDx (had it from the initial Backup Loader 0.1).

    I used AnyTitleDeleter and found it under system files (displayed as IOS249)... after I deleted it from there, I was back in business and no more error -1017.

    At the very least, I'd highly recommend downloading AnyTitleDeleter and check if you see IOS249 under the SystemFiles
     
  14. Chewy5

    Newcomer Chewy5 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Yes, getting rid of IOS249 solved me 1017 issue. Thanks
     
  15. madmarvin

    Newcomer madmarvin Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Stourbridge UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    right i kept getting 1017 error when launching the usb loader

    removing ios 249 worked for me

    usb loader working fine on Pal wii running system 4.0 with wiikey 1.9s installed

    this info might be of some use to someone [​IMG]
     
  16. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yep. I can back this up too. Use ATD and delete IOS249 and reinstall.
     
  17. clivefrog

    Newcomer clivefrog Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    I've have this 1017 error problem also, but when i run any title deleter and choose system files it says it can't read titles or something similar, I'm on 3.2E, heeeelp!
     
  18. clivefrog

    Newcomer clivefrog Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    duplicate post
     
  19. gmcfly22

    Newcomer gmcfly22 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Belgium
    Where can i find AnyTitleDelete ? I googled like crazy but can't find it.
     
  20. S197

    Newcomer S197 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    OMFG!!!!!!!! THANK YOU

    I had that freaking IOS249 problem with the error -1017. Deleted it and I'm in business!!!
     

Share This Page