Just installed Softmii...now having problems

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cokeman118, Feb 4, 2009.

Feb 4, 2009
  1. cokeman118
    OP

    Newcomer cokeman118 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I just installed the Softmii, everything seemed to be working however some of my backups do not work. I tried 2, No More Heros, and King of Fighters collection. Both are patched to IOS 249 because I used them with Gamma no problems. Now the games show up in the disc channel but when I try to play them a black screen comes up saying there are errors and to eject disk and turn off the power. I know there is nothing wrong with the backups because they work fine with Gamma. I've tried some 1:1 backups of other games and they work. Is it because the other games are patched to IOS 249 that they don't work?? I though the system menu is patched to 249 with softmii so that shouldn't be a problem right? Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

    edit...

    ok I tried the games on another wii that I did the softmii to and they work. The first wii I used was a 3.1 wii I had to update manually since it doesn't have wifi. I used IOS30-64-v1040.wad, and SystemMenu-v289.wad with wadinstaller to get to v3.2U. Did the softmii thing but didn't like the menu after the 42app. I reinstalled the systemmenu-v289.wad and it reverted the menu back to normal. I installed all the cIOS files again and this is where I have my problems. I figured after reinstalling the original menu It needed to be patched again. I did not reinstall IOS30-64-v1040.wad since I didn't think I needed to. Should I try to reinstall it and redo the cIOS files to get them patched again? It still says 3.2U. Somewhere something isn't recognizing my patched 249 IOS backups.

    any help is appreciated.
     
  2. oneleggedjack

    Member oneleggedjack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    just use gamma for those games *fixed [​IMG]
     
  3. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    Your problem comes from not using the anyregion changer. its what gives the region free hacks, otherwise out of region games error like you are describing
     
  4. cokeman118
    OP

    Newcomer cokeman118 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    The games I have are not out of region. They are both NTSC-U. I'm pretty sure I didn't even use ARC on the other wii where the games are actually working.
     
  5. m-tek

    Member m-tek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    afaik the patched games with ios 249 wont run via the DC only gamma
     
  6. cokeman118
    OP

    Newcomer cokeman118 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    but on the other wii THEY ARE WORKING in the disc channel. Maybe it does have something to do with ARC. Since it's not WiFi though, I cannot connect to the internet to install the required files. Any way of getting them and loading them from the SD card??
     
  7. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    read wiigators blog
     
  8. cokeman118
    OP

    Newcomer cokeman118 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States

    Ok, got it working! Here was my problem...On the wii where the games worked, I had already installed Wiigators cIOS and the GAMMA channel to play backups. So then I thought I'd try the SoftMii and I can run games from the disc channel.

    Now on the other 3.1U wii, I just installed the SoftMii package per tutorial...nothing else was on this wii. All I can say is that you seem to need Wiigators cIOS for the GAMMA channel installed along with softmii to get the disc channel working with patches IOS 249 backups. This was not in the tutorial. Am I correct in saying that the Wiigators cIOS is needed?? On the 3.1U wii, I just reinstalled the 3.2U system menu and IOS30 to get back to the normal looking menu, installed Wiigators cIOS, installed SoftMii's CORP, installed starfall to block updates, and now the 3.1U to 3.2U wii plays IOS 249 backups from the disc channel. What a PITA [​IMG]
     
  9. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if youpatch games to 249, you need cios 7 249. This was stated in softmii 0.9.5 guide, not sure about 1.0
     
  10. cokeman118
    OP

    Newcomer cokeman118 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    ok, makes sense. Didn't see it in the 1.0 tutorial so that's how I missed it [​IMG]
     

Share This Page