Just bought a US PS3

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by EnigmaXtreme, Nov 4, 2011.

Nov 4, 2011

Just bought a US PS3 by EnigmaXtreme at 9:04 PM (827 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    While in the states, i have bought a PS3 at Best Buy, now before I go home, anything i should know? Like game compatibility, NTSC/PAL, dvd and blu ray etc
     
  2. akari212

    Member akari212 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    read the manual but here's the peak of what you need to know about PS3:

    - PS3 Games are region free
    - PS1 Disc Games are Region coded
    - PSOne Classics are Region free
    - DVD and Blu-Ray movies are Region coded
    - PS2 Backward Compatibility is only available on very first SKU models.
     
  3. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    is there any way to change the region of the console,like if i set up the account for australia it will allow australia dvds
     
  4. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately no, I'm guessing you bought a new PS3 so hacking it is out of the question (I'm not even sure there's something for Blu Ray region anyway since I don't keep up/care about the PS3 homebrew scene).

    If you want to find out what countries you can import from (that's if you want to..) https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/wiki/Blu-ray_Disc#Region_codes
    There's also Blu Rays that are region free, so check for them!
     
  5. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    actually movies arenot a major concern for me, im looking at the console and its saying 120v. will that be ok for australia who's 240v
     
  6. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  7. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I assume that a (good quality) converter should do the job.
     
  8. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,236
    Country:
    United States
    ps3 power supplies are universal, just buy a new power plug once you get home.
     
  9. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there anyway to change the DVD/BR region from 1 to 4
     
  10. dark_sol

    Newcomer dark_sol Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    Seriously? Try using google instead of expecting others to do research for you. This is something you probably should have figured out before you made a purchase like this.

    Anyways, not to seem like a complete condescending prick:

    A quick google search led me to this:http://forums.dashha...vd-regions.html
    There are steps in that thread on how to change regions IF you have a custom firmware. If your PS3 has a firmware higher than 3.55 than you might be out of luck, however if it's at 3.70 than you can open up your PS3 to install a mod to allow you to downgrade to 3.55, which will then allow you to install custom firmware so that you can change the region for Blu-Ray and DVD playback.
     
  11. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    The reason i asked is cause I did do a google search and i was getting conflicting answers, some where saying "sure just go into security settings" and others were just saying you couldnt.
     
  12. Pado

    Member Pado GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The Holy Land
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's not possible to change the Blu-ray/DVD region of a PS3 that's not on custom firmware or is on hackable firmware (FW3.55 or lower). That's pretty much the end of the story.
     

Share This Page