Hacking Just a tip about PSone games on CFW!

KongsNutz

[Team Oceanic]
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,680
Trophies
1
XP
1,598
Country
United States
Hey there I've been loving the CFW on PS3 since the 4.82 hacks came out and have been testing everything I have on it.
So far I've had great results on PS2, PS3 and somewhat good results on PSX iso's.

However no matter what I would do (install to internal HDD or EXT HDD or run from CD-R) PSX games ran fine all for the FMV's and sound would stutter on most if not all games.

I found the solution, even though the PS3 with CFW will play PSX games from outter region consoles (NTSC on PAL and PAL on NTSC) the inbuilt emulator will only run at your consoles specifications.
So I checked all my iso's and yes of course they were NTSC (I'm a PAL), so I switched to a PAL version of a game that was stuttering and the problem was gone. (tried a bunch of other problem games in PAL and they worked too)

So if you have stuttering on your PSone iso's or discs, make sure they are of the same region as your console.
Funnily enough PS2 (and naturally PS3) iso's run fine on any region.
 
Last edited by KongsNutz,

Psionic Roshambo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
2,256
Trophies
2
Age
50
XP
3,378
Country
United States
I would think you could patch the ISOs for 50/60Hz? I have had great luck with that on the Wii and Dreamcast. Love being able to play European games in the US sometimes I don't know why games only hit one region :(

Ok I just looked it up yes there is a region Patcher for PS1 I can't post the link here but it could be worth looking for? Not sure how it would work with the PS3 but for some games it might be worth it.
 

cvskid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
2,811
Trophies
2
XP
3,418
Country
United States
Didn't know the sega dreamcast had issues reguarding that. Every sega dreamcast game i have came across ask you if you want to run the game in 50Hz or 60Hz before playing it.
 
Last edited by cvskid,

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,756
Trophies
2
Age
38
XP
4,030
Country
Saudi Arabia
Hmm, will that still happens with non cfw PS3? I have PAL PS3 Slim, and NA account, and have crash Team racing from the NA account, it still running without problem.

So this only happens with disc version?
 

shinoff2183

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
79
Country
United States
Hmm, will that still happens with non cfw PS3? I have PAL PS3 Slim, and NA account, and have crash Team racing from the NA account, it still running without problem.

So this only happens with disc version?




Im not able to run psx pal images on my ntsc cfw ps3. There are a few ones I was dying to try but when I finally was able to it didnt work. I just thought it was odd considering the stuff cfw ps3s can do.
 

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,756
Trophies
2
Age
38
XP
4,030
Country
Saudi Arabia
Im not able to run psx pal images on my ntsc cfw ps3. There are a few ones I was dying to try but when I finally was able to it didnt work. I just thought it was odd considering the stuff cfw ps3s can do.
weird, did you tried using the iso image for that using usb?
i managed to run digimon rumble arena EU and NA and JP version on my CFW PS3 (full CFW, the hackable PS3)

what's your PS3's model?
 

endz

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
95
Country
United States
Im not able to run psx pal images on my ntsc cfw ps3. There are a few ones I was dying to try but when I finally was able to it didnt work. I just thought it was odd considering the stuff cfw ps3s can do.

Try running them on Irisman Lite v4.82.1. It's what works for me, and if there are still problems you can press triangle on the game in the menu to go into their options and maybe try different video settings.
 
  • Like
Reactions: shinoff2183

shinoff2183

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
79
Country
United States
Try running them on Irisman Lite v4.82.1. It's what works for me, and if there are still problems you can press triangle on the game in the menu to go into their options and maybe try different video settings.



Thank you I will try this in a few moments
 

shinoff2183

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
79
Country
United States
Try running them on Irisman Lite v4.82.1. It's what works for me, and if there are still problems you can press triangle on the game in the menu to go into their options and maybe try different video settings.



Thanks a bunch. I copied it over in irisman lite and bam worked like a charm. I am so happy and thank you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: endz

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's a DS Lite in a slightly bigger DS Lite shell.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not a Nintendo / iQue official product, it's a 3rd party custom.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nothing special about it other than it's more comfortable than the Lite
    for people with beefy hands.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I have yaoi anime hands, very lorge but slender.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I'm Slenderman.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I have hands.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    imagine not having hands, cringe
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    ESPECIALLY for things I do to myself :sad:.. :tpi::rofl2: Or others :shy::blush::evil:
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @SylverReZ if you could find a v5 DS ML you would have the best of both worlds since the v5 units had the same backlight brightness levels as the DS Lite unlockable with flashme
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but that's a long shot
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i think only the red mario kart edition phat was v5
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    A woman with no arms and no legs was sitting on a beach. A man comes along and the woman says, "I've never been hugged before." So the man feels bad and hugs her. She says "Well i've also never been kissed before." So he gives her a kiss on the cheek. She says "Well I've also never been fucked before." So the man picks her up, and throws her in the ocean and says "Now you're fucked."
    +2
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    lmao
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    anyways, we need to re-normalize physical media

    if i didn't want my games to be permanent, then i'd rent them
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Agreed, that why I try to buy all my games on disc, Xbox anyways. Switch games (which I pirate tbh) don't matter much, I stay offline 24/7 anyways.
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I don't pirate them, I Use Them :mellow:. Like I do @BigOnYa 's couch :tpi::evil::rofl2:
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    @BakerMan - you can still "own" digital media, arguably easier and better than physical since you can make copies and backups, as much as you like.

    The issue is DRM
  • cearp @ cearp:
    You can buy drm free games / music / ebooks, and if you keep backups of your data (like documents and family photos etc), then you shouldn't lose the game. but with a disk, your toddler could put it in the toaster and there goes your $60

    :rofl2:
  • cearp @ cearp:
    still, I agree physical media is nice to have. just pointing out the issue is drm
  • rqkaiju2 @ rqkaiju2:
    i like physical media because it actually feels like you own it. thats why i plan on burning music to cds
  • cearp @ cearp:
    It's nice to not have to have a lot of physical things though, saves space
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Nor clothes 🤮 . Saves on time, soap, water and money having to wash them. :D
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @rqkaiju2, Physical media is a great source for archiving your data, none of that cloud storage shiz.
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: @rqkaiju2, Physical media is a great source for archiving your data, none of that cloud storage...