JS-VBA-M

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by ILOVEPIE, Oct 8, 2012.

Oct 8, 2012

JS-VBA-M by ILOVEPIE at 5:25 AM (2,319 Views / 2 Likes) 17 replies

  1. ILOVEPIE
    OP

    Newcomer ILOVEPIE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, you probably know me as the developer of DSTELNET, but today I present something completely different:
    A working Web-based Gameboy Advance Emulator that supports most games.

    Here is a video of a development version from a couple days ago:
    http://youtu.be/pjCuM6pnI54

    Check it out:
    JS-VBA-M
     
    NahuelDS and Vinnymac like this.
  2. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,933
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    Now that's intense.
     
  3. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,705
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had seen the X86 javascript emulator but I find this more amusing. I will have to look further into this webGL stuff as well.
     
  4. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Just wondering, how did you make this, and how long did it take?!
    Also, it doesn't work in Firefox 16.0 atm, in the latest Chrome it does work.
     
  5. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    It'd be funny if Golden Sun worked well on it.
     
  6. ILOVEPIE
    OP

    Newcomer ILOVEPIE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    This took me less time than expected because I used the Emscripten C/C++ to Javascript translator.
    It took me like a week and a half to make this.
     
  7. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,818
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Does this work with the 3DS? Or PSP?
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You know what would be a really easy way to find out? Trying it.

    Although I'm fairly sure neither of those devices support WebGL. And the PSP can run homebrew even on the latest OFW, so there is absolutely no reason to run an emulator in the browser.
     
  9. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,566
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    This won't run any ROM for me on Firefox 15.0.1, not even Pokemon Ruby which works in the video... Anything I try to play just results in a black or white screen with 0% in the top left.
     
  10. ILOVEPIE
    OP

    Newcomer ILOVEPIE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Firefox does not handle some javascript correctly, as such, the current build of firefox does not work with the emulator, try Google Chrome.


    Update:

    I just published an update that fixes the smudged pixels and stuff of the last version of the emulator. I was using the HQ versions of the filters by accident, now it should run both faster and look better.
     
  11. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,818
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Uh, yeah. But here is the thing, I don't have a 3DS and my PSP doesn't have internet. That's why I asked the question in the first place.

    So if you are so sure, why suggest to try it in the first place?

    That's completly irrelevant to the question.

     
  12. Ziko

    Member Ziko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    I just updated my Firefox to 16.0. I just get a white screen when I run games on it. Why's that?
     
  13. MasterMan194

    Newcomer MasterMan194 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Brazil
    Read.
     
  14. Ziko

    Member Ziko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    I kinda didn't like Chrome eating up my processor and RAM with multiple processes running on my system so I'll take a pass on this one until someone fixes it.
     
  15. ILOVEPIE
    OP

    Newcomer ILOVEPIE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    I reported it to mozilla already...
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=799524
     
  16. ILOVEPIE
    OP

    Newcomer ILOVEPIE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Great News!
    I just released an update for JS-VBA-M that was compiled on the latest version of emscripten, which means it may work in more browsers now!
     
  17. grantgalitz

    Newcomer grantgalitz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    So what version of VBA are you compiling from?
     
  18. Nah3DS

    Member Nah3DS Madre de Dios! Es El POLLO DIABLO!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,553
    Country:
    Argentina
    wow, it works :bow:
     

Share This Page