Japanese wii :(

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sidekick, Nov 20, 2008.

Nov 20, 2008

Japanese wii :( by sidekick at 10:19 PM (2,491 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

1. sidekick
    OP

Newcomer sidekick Newbie

United Kingdom
    Please help...Im completely new to this...

On my travels to asia I purchased a japanese modded Wii (all japanese menu's) and bought back to the UK.
    It came with lots of wii games (all japenese and appear to be copies) and they all work.

I have only recently purchased my first PAL game from UK- Wii Fit

to cut a long story short...

I inserted Wii fit and must have ran some system update from the game DVD and it must have semi bricked the Wii as I couldnt access the system settings. Anyway I found a firmware installer today and reverted the firmware back to 3.2J and can now access the system settings luckily!
    please could someone kindly answer my questions below?

1) Will the Wii be able to play the PAL Wii Fit game, it asks to update my Wii in japanese as soon as game is inserted (it wont let me go any further without the update) Do I need some sort of region free decoder software or can I somehow skip the updates? If so, can advice?

2) Is there anything out there that will show the wii menu system in english? I dont understand it [​IMG]

Many thanks
    wk

2. Slowking

Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

Germany
    Well first of all it may be a good idea to convert your Wii to a UK-PAL Wii with AnyRegionChanger. You have to be on System Menu 3.2J to do this (the menu version can be seen in the upper right corner in the settings menu). If you are not you can use cIOS Downgrader to get there. For the cIOS downgrader however you will have to have cIOS on your Wii.
    After changing your region to UK-PAL you can now read all the text and savely upgrade with PAL games. HOWEVER you can't upgrade with the japanese games anymore, as that will semi or fullbrick you.