I'VE BEEN FEEDING MY WII THIS?!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by coolbho3000, Mar 13, 2008.

Mar 13, 2008
  1. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    This is quality Verbatim MKM 003 media...

    [​IMG]

    Yet my Wii still reads this flawlessly for some strange reason. For those getting DREs, it might be your burner. That sure was the case for me.

    That's it, I'm doing the DVD5 trick. My Wii's laser will DIE otherwise.
     
  2. mr deez

    Member mr deez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No idea what that gubbins means, but would be mildly interested if you wish to spill the beans?
     
  3. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
  4. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    The moral of this story? Always burn high speed media at high speeds.

    I had burned the Japanese version of the game previously, except that time at 4x. The US version, I wanted to be a bit "more careful" and burned at 2.4x. Guess what? The Japanese version did significantly better in the test. There were some minor issues at the layerbreak, but the PIE errors only peaked at 42 as opposed to the 900+ atrocity I had at 2.4x.

    So this is my experience! If you have high speed media, USE HIGH SPEEDS. I'm going to start burning stuff at least half the rated speed now. At any rate, I'm done with DL media. I'm burning SSBB to a DVD5 and skipping all the cinematics.
     
  5. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,660
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Where have you got an MKM 003? [​IMG] I've only found MKM 001 ones (the ones with the printable label).

    Higher the number, better the quality [​IMG]
     
  6. NikoK

    Member NikoK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    Canada
    What should I do to help my wii laser from dying. I use memorex dvd-r and for brawl I use memorex Dvd-dl....Burn speeds? Disc Brand?
     
  7. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that BS about burning at the slowest speed possible hasn't been true for years. Now that the quality of burners and media is better it is actually best to burn at higher speeds. I usually go somewhere between the middle and highest speed of a disc.

    Like on 2.4-6x DL media I will burn at 4x with a Plextor burner.

    Burning too slow causes as many read errors as burning too fast.
     
  8. dweirdo

    Member dweirdo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    Lithuania
    rofl i had nec rw 2 and all my burns where 30% damaged or bad, than i bought new lg drive [​IMG]
     
  9. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    My 3530a is a decent drive, horrible firmware support. I had to upgrade to an unknown Dell OEM firmware in order for it to burn to MKM 003, then back to NEC firmware to do quality testing. It's an OEM drive so NEC doesn't officially support it, the drive is missing from their website (it goes from 3520 to 3540) and all the burn strategies are outdated. [​IMG]
     
  10. dweirdo

    Member dweirdo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    Lithuania
    just buy a new drive XDDDDDDDDDDD
     
  11. ziddey

    Member ziddey GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Country:
    United States
    I've never played around that much with nec firmware with my nec 3500. Just stuck with new liggy fast rpc1 ones and called it a day. Sucks that you have to switch back to the stock firmware to do testing. At least you get to though. The 3500 doesn't support it period. Maybe with mediacodespeededit you can cook up a firmware that'll let you do both.


    I ran out of mkm's and for the time being went and got some shitty media from best buy to play around with. It's dynex (best buy) 15pack dvd+r dl for $18. Same price as for a 5 pack of mkm's. Since I already had mkm's on order from online, why not get a 15 pack and play around with?

    Burned with a samsung s203b sb03 fb+fr @ 12x pcav
    [​IMG]
    Pretty horrid, and normally I'd chuck it. But surprisingly, it works fine.

    The MID is ricohjpn d01, but from what I gather, it's a fake. The hub printing doesn't match up. Plus, it's made in HK.


    edit: for those who don't want to read too far into the details of pie and pif, consider "bad" discs ones that have either max pie>208 or max pif>4
     
  12. ProdigySim

    Member ProdigySim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately, none of you seem to know how to read those graphs


    First of all, you can't get accurate C1/C2 error readings with any drive. Not many of them are very consistent through reading the entire disc. Lite-On is very good, though.

    Secondly, for normal reading, C1 errors (or PI Errors) are fine as long as you don't get large areas with over 280 failures. C2 errors (or PI Failures) are fine as long as you don't get large areas with over 32 errors.

    This means that the opening post's chart shows pretty bad media quality towards the end, but nowhere else on the disc.

    And Ziddey's media is just fine.

    For more information on the stuff, check out these forums:
    http://club.cdfreaks.com/f33/
    Specifically, this topic:
    http://club.cdfreaks.com/f76/interpreting-...or-scans-80545/

    I got some new Verbatim India made DVD-R 5s, and they had really bad failure rates at the beginning of the discs, and got errors when playing on the Wii... So I grabbed some cheap Sony DVD+Rs, which had bad end-of-disc scans. Between the two, I can probably make it through some entire games [​IMG]
     
  13. LinuxPoser

    Newcomer LinuxPoser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]


    so does this mean my dvd is ok? the peaks are pretty ominous. I also changed my POT down to 534, and still get read errors, im praying to god its the disc
     
  14. ProdigySim

    Member ProdigySim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    You should try doing PIPO scanning at a mid/low speed on your drive. I suggest using Nero DiscSpeed because it allows you to set this speed.

    Your scan looks fine, though. And frankly, what matters is whether or not your wii's going to read it.
     
  15. gamidi

    Newcomer gamidi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Greece
    Anyways guys, the most errors are after the 4 GB mark. The only time your wii will have a hard time is when loading the videos. If you are playing multiplayer which is on the first layer, i dont think you will have a problem even without the DVD5 trick.
     
  16. LinuxPoser

    Newcomer LinuxPoser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    well heres my reasoning behind its a bad burn. I have 3 copies of brawl burned. 1 copy has no layer break, 2 have a layer break. All verbatim dvd+r DL. I adjusted the laser pot to 534 from 834. Whenever i freeze at a cutscene, sometimes it continues if i eject the disk and put it back in. However, if it continually doesnt work, i swap between the 3 disks, and sometimes i can get through it. Like i take disk 1 out, put in the disk without a layebreak, and the cutscene will advance another 3 seconds, freeze, put in the third and the cut scene continues and i continue to play. Really wondering whats causing this. Im praying to god its because i didnt close all applications running, and did other things while it burned.
     
  17. FoulPlay

    Member FoulPlay GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    United States
    It's not sadly.
    I have the same problem...
    I had all my applications closed, and the NTSC-U version crashes at every fricking cut-scene, even have to skip the intro movie.

    Super bad burn? I thought so.... UNTIL I SEEN THE IMAGE QUALITY OF THE VERBATIM DVD+R DL INDIA DISC.
    I'd purchase the retail version, but the WiiKey wont read it. God damn you WiiKey.
     

Share This Page