Itouchds GBA homebrew?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by MidgetCookie, Apr 19, 2012.

Apr 19, 2012

Itouchds GBA homebrew? by MidgetCookie at 12:04 PM (1,907 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. MidgetCookie
    OP

    Newcomer MidgetCookie Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Canterlot
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I may sound like a total noob here, but does anyone know the homebrew needed to run GBA games on Itouchds?
    :yay:
     


  2. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    divine intervention.nds

    Google that to play GBA.

    Or get a Slot 2 cart.
     
    2 people like this.
  3. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need an ez flash v 3 in 1 to load gba ROMs or homebrew from standard slot 1 cards. Alternatively you can use any GBA flash card/slot 2 flashcard with using in conjunction with slot 1.
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I believe the iTouch has the same processor on-board as the SCDS:Two, therefore it should be possible to emulate it somehow.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. avenir

    Member avenir GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    Why the hell that is possible... Only DSTWO and iSmartMultiMedia can have gba emulator.
    iTouch is just a M3iZero clone...

    MidgetCookie, you definitely need slot2 cart/memory. I recommend M3Ext for iTouch, but I don't know if it is still sold...
     
  6. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    I'd honestly just go with an EZFlash 3in1. I had used my iTouchDS with one and I never had a problem, just need to use GBAExploader.
     
  7. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,771
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Buy a Supercard DSTwo for GBA emulation or a slot-2 card.
    iTouch can not emulate GBA games.
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I don't like being attacked personally for something so petty.

    If indeed I am wrong, and the iTouch doesn't have the same hardware as the SCDS:Two, then please correct me in a civil manner. Preferably without flaming.

    EDIT: Yes I mad. I try to help to the best of my ability and get condemned for it.

    EDIT 2: Does anyone here even know what an iTouch is in the first place? 'cause I'm pretty sure it has the same MIPS processor that the SCDS:Two has, even if it came out before that cart and wasn't as widely publicized. Again, I could be wrong, but I feel like I'm talking to people who don't even know what a "PassMe"/"WifiMe"/"FlashMe" is.
     
  9. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,736
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    People DanTheManMS has probably helped out more flash cart users than the rest of us combined- some slack please.

    Back on topic much like most other areas of tech the pretenders choose similar names to cause confusion among the less informed (although frankly I would not step outside the big 6 or so companies (supercard, EZFlash, m3/g6 (maybe not today), ismart (they are not a simple clone company), cyclo (again maybe not today) and acekard).

    So the clarify

    The itouch as best I can tell is an earlier M3i/oem M3i (mainstream/proper flash cart companies have as many interesting spinoffs and sideprojects as any of the clone companies- pretty much all of them sold a version with R4 in the name and most will sell they prototype type devices under another name for a couple of months, get a good version sorted and then sell that) with all that it entails (no GBA emulation on DS).

    The ismart premium is a cart based off the EZ5 at some level (no GBA emulation on DS) although the software diverged (they also have a nice program called fishshell which is pretty much Chinese moonshell that gained some ability to control/run things).

    The ismart MM is a cart based off the iplayer (which was made the supercard team) but the ismartDS team put the in the time to port the DSTwo kernel and now gets backports/crossports of the DSTwo fixes and kernel but not the DSTwo homebrew primarily as it is a slightly different processor/architecture (although it has a/the decent media player and a GBA emulator along with a custom version of dingux that the DSTwo does not have that punches well above its weight- as in a handful of amiga and PS1 games above its weight).

    IsmartDS (who make the ismart premium and ismart MM) are an oem/licensing company (although they have some people that know what they are doing) rather than a clone company as well.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    WAT IT'S POSSIBLEohwaitlol
     
  11. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    By iTouch, I thought you guys meant this.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  12. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, because that is not an iTouch. That is an iPod Touch. Two completely different things.
     
    2 people like this.
  13. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    People call it an iTouch too.
     
  14. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    And they're wrong.
     
    2 people like this.
  15. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    So are the people who call black people African-American, but I don't hear any complaints.
     
  16. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Just because people don't complain doesn't mean it's right then.
     
  17. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG]

    Not sure if trolling, or just stupid.
     
    2 people like this.
  18. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    Or an emulator on the iPod Touch..
     
  19. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    There's a subforum for that.
     
  20. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never mind that, the title of the thread is "Itouchds".
     

Share This Page