iTouch2 Impressions

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Opium, May 20, 2009.

May 20, 2009

iTouch2 Impressions by Opium at 3:45 AM (5,947 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    iTouch2 Impressions
    In house at GBAtemp
    [​IMG]

    The DSi revised edition of the iTouchDS has arrived in house at GBAtemp.net. Dubbed the 'iTouch2' the card functions the same as the earlier edition with the addition of DSi compatibility. A new v3.0 firmware was also released with the card for use on the iTouchDS and iTouch2, however there is no changelog currently.

    The same crew behind the M3 and G6 line of cards are behind the iTouch2. The iTouch2 is widely touted as the cheaper alternative to the M3 and features real-time save/load, soft reset, cheats, slow motion and multiple save files per game. Almost everything is identical to the previous iteration of the iTouch with the addition of a slightly redesigned menu background.

    The iTouch2 is best known for the iFav menu which is a screen that shows the icons of your selected favourite games that can be quickly launched. Unfortunately I've noticed from my brief test with the latest firmware that the iTouch2's menu loading has slowed down quite a lot. It takes 14 seconds to load the iFav menu with one page of DS game icons, which is ridiculously long when other flashcard menu's load instantaneously. The original iTouchDS menu loaded much faster as well. It is quite a shame, especially when soft resetting out of a game only to be met by a long loading screen.

    Hidden in the Global.nds file that comes with the firmware are a number of options including changing the language, setting a sleep timer and also enabling soft reset or real time save by default for all games. It took me a while to find this option but I'm glad I did, enabling soft reset by defaults means you will not have to sift through the options menu on each individual game to enable it.

    However those points aside the iTouch2 is really quite nice. The real-time save/load feature and in game menu is excellent and loads very quickly. The card also uses a CHEAT.db file for its cheat engine which is supported by the GBAtemp Cheat Database. All games I've tested have loaded perfectly and soft reset works as expected.

    The card is built from the same thin plastic with clips along the side as with other M3 products which isn't the best build design I've seen, however it's strong enough to withstand use. I haven't had an issues with my old iTouchDS in my time with it. There is also a slight bulge from the chip underneath the sticker but the card fits into the DSi easily with no issues.

    I will be writing a full review of the iTouch2 in a special comparison review between the iTouch2 and Supercard DSOnei to give GBAtemp readers a better idea of what DSi enabled card they should pick up. Stay tuned to GBAtemp.net for that!

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    In the meantime check out more pictures or ask some questions by clicking the link below.

    [​IMG] Pics & Discussion
     


  2. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]


    I'm currently working on making a DSi themed skin for the iTouch2. It's slow work but I'll get there. I'm making the App/Game/Fav menu icons look like the DSi menu boxes at the moment.
     
  3. ball2012003

    ball2012003 Newbie

    card looks nice especially the ifav menu
    glad i ordered this
     
  4. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you know the iTouch2 has an updateable bootstrap?
     
  5. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    it's obviously a fantastic card and for the DSi it will be great but they really have to deal with the slowdown cuz thts pretty annoying
    nice pics, thanks
     
  6. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    The card reader looks nice. Good thing mine is due from Kick Gaming and it should show up soon.
     
  7. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm not sure. There's no documentation to state that you can update the bootstrap and there isn't a DS card reader like what's included with the Supercard DSOnei. However I guess it's possible it can be updated like the recent Acekard 2i language fix demonstrated. I'll try and find out.
     
  8. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Sweet, thanks. I hope it is. I'm going to order this next week to add to my collection of DSi compatible flash cartridges. At the moment I've got an Acekard 2i (HW81), EZ-Flash Vi and a SuperCard DSONEi which is on order at the moment.
     
  9. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    So what is the point to actually get their so called budget cards. Obviously the M3 is better and they even made a better firmware for it. They are not catering to the iTouch users at all except for updates. Just me or do they just not care for them so much? Doesn't matter they payed more for the M3 the iTouch lacks in some departments i.e. the menu and the bootstrap as said. Seriously why make a product if you don't give it reason to sell well.
     
  10. Ballistic

    Member Ballistic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    Probably just another "baby DSi" flashcart that has no functions other than DS mode. It's such a shame since the M3 Team will finally be getting my money :[
     
  11. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the info. I've send a query to the development team about it and also about the 3.0 menu slowdowns and lack of soft reset by default. Hopefully I'll hear something soon.

    *edit*

    I've found an option in the global.nds file included in the firmware to enable soft reset or real time save by default. Nice [​IMG] Pity it's hidden away in there, I remember global.nds only having a language option last time I took a look at it (a long time ago).
     
  12. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Is the itouch2 will be firmware upgradable (i mean the CPLD code inside the main processor) like on DSonei or EZFlash Vi ?
     
  13. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Three posts above yours [​IMG]

    It seems that it's not [​IMG]
     
  14. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Oh ! sorry guys. I've not seen PharaohsVizier post.
    Ok. Let's hope big N will not do what we think they will do.
     
  15. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    It's OK [​IMG]

    Anyways, I really do hope it won't happen, but when you think about it, there is no reason why it wouldn't..I'm just not sure what are they waiting for, how come they didn't try to block flashcarts with firmware update, maybe they're waiting for some more to be produced, and then block them all out..

    Who knows..
     
  16. mysticstryk

    Newcomer mysticstryk Newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States

    Or maybe they can't block them. The DSi itself was the block but we got past that. Maybe thats why Nintendo is getting security for each individual game by december '09.
     
  17. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    That would be very unlikely. Nintendo could likely block them temporarily by just doing a checksum of the first couple of bytes of the bootloader and block games with that checksum.
     
  18. Hopawarty

    Banned Hopawarty Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Oz
    Country:
    Australia
    F*Bleep* Nintendo

    If they update it, and they try to block it, lol, theres like, what 3500 dumped roms or more, it will take a while.
     
  19. rabz

    Newcomer rabz Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    France
    So this is a IMPORTANT function the upgradeable boot loader ??
    Because it doesn't have the function, Nintendo can block the Itouch 2 any moment ??
    And the other flash carts have it ??

    I'm french so i have difficult to try to talk !

    Sorry !
     
  20. elfsander

    Member elfsander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes, yes and some other cards have it.

    Also: if it looks to good to be true, then it probably is.
     

Share This Page