Is this pc decent enough for playing most games?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Black_Knight_666, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. Black_Knight_666
    OP

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    INTEL QUAD I7 960

    24G DDR3 RAM

    60G SSD HARD DRIVE

    2TB SATAIII HARD DRIVE

    1G GTX 560 VIDEO CARD

    BLUERAY BURNER

    COOLER MASTER CENTRIO II CASE

    24'' LED SCREEN

    MS KEYBOARD/MOUSE

    WIN 7 HOME PREMIUM
     


  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,179
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    what the heck do you need 24GB of ram for???
     
  3. iMythD

    Newcomer iMythD Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Australia
    yes. yes it is. Sounds like an AWESOME computer.
     
  4. kylehaas

    Member kylehaas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    United States
    Are you kidding?
     
  5. Black_Knight_666
    OP

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Its made by a local shop lol. is $1860 a good price for it?
     
  6. Fluto

    Member Fluto A potato in disguise

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,273
    Location:
    The Moon
    Country:
    Australia
    XD 24 GB ram
    most people use those for simulations (plane).

    or programs in animating or video editing, or even medical
     
  7. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    24gb wtf
     
  8. Black_Knight_666
    OP

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Haha yeah [​IMG] thats just how the shop makes it as XD
     
  9. shadowkillerdrag

    Member shadowkillerdrag GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    United States
    hmm im thinking that u could get a better comp for 1.9k ish rofl
    im curious if it has 24 gb ram why cant they just put a gulftown >< lol
     
  10. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm very curious as to what the OP is using this computer for.
     
  11. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    24GB of RAM > my 512 MB of RAM

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    I had no idea that existed.

    The other day I saw an 8gb one and was like woah, that's a good pc.
     
  13. Black_Knight_666
    OP

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I didnt ask for it to have 24gb ram lol, in the brochure it said it was the home gaming package lol
     
  14. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    /notsosecretbragtopic.

    Seriously though, 24GB of RAM is overkill for gaming and is a complete waste of money.
     
  15. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    The video card is not the best. It will play all games, but it won't run Crysis 2 on highest settings smoothly. If the money for the RAM ran towards a GTX590 or a Radeon 6970, it would've been a lot better for gaming.

    It's also too bad you paid for previous generation i7 when sandy bridge came out and it performs much better with less price. (Not that you need it for current games)
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The RAM is a waste of money. Literally, over half of it will not be used.

    Get them to cut back on the RAM and stick a better video card in it, like Westside said.
     
  17. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    ^This here.
    Trade all that other nonsense for the best graphics card you can buy.
    (well, come to think of it, the ss drive sounds kinda nice too [​IMG] )
     
  18. inter4ever

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Cut the RAM down to the half, add a newer sandy bridge processor and increase the SSD capacity to 120GB. 60GB will barely be enough for the x64 OS and the essential programs. You need more space for larger size games. Also, the more free space you have the better the performance. (not sure of the last one)
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The last one's not true once you get beyond ~15% free space (where the OS can operate naturally).
     
  20. overslept

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    You running this on air with a stock cooler, bro?
     

Share This Page