Is there a 3DS region-lock solution yet?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by akaibara, Mar 28, 2011.

Mar 28, 2011
  1. akaibara
    OP

    Newcomer akaibara Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Now that the 3DS has been released in the US has there been any progress into breaking that stupid region-lock? Like a modchip or something? ...Anything? I've looked all over the internet for the past couple hours and haven't been able to find any info regarding this. I generally import about 25~30% of my games from Japan and would really prefer a cheaper solution than to buy 2 3DSs. I just don't have that kind of money and I really really want to play the newest Layton game and the upcoming Layton vs. Phoenix.
     
  2. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Dude, the 3DS just came out. Hackers aren't magic. It's going to be a long wait before any substantial progress of any kind is made.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    vdakgajklv.fs'h

    You're expecting a modchip like two days after the thing's released?

    Do you know how much work goes into producing a modchip? They have to log the signals, reverse-engineer them, find a way to spoof them, find a chip that'd both be able to modify the signal in realtime, and run off of the small amount of power it's fed, then find a form-factor that would fit inside the physical machine, and that's just the planning stages, let along the actual physical production of the chip.

    No, and there's not likely to be anything for a while.
     
  4. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah man I made like 4 of them already but they took me like 50 minutes to make so I kinda want to sell them for a pricey price if you know what I mean ha ha ha

    $18
     
  5. Amiti

    Member Amiti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure if there's going to be a solution for it, we'll hear about. But not right this moment. I want the region lock to break because I think it was the most stupid move on Nintendo's end ever but it's probably not going to happen that soon.

    Besides, I think the Layton game is going to be localized in the USA anyways. The Layton vs. Phoenix however is another issue -___-
     
  6. akaibara
    OP

    Newcomer akaibara Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I think the Layton game will make it to the US in a year or two if we're lucky but for this series I buy and play both the Japanese version and the US version. I was disappointed when they pushed the original November 2010 release day to rework it for the 3DS and release it as a launch title in Japan. Layton vs. Phoenix is a big question mark right now.
     
  7. spiritofcat

    Member spiritofcat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Australia
    If you can read Japanese well enough to get through stuff like Layton and Wright in Japanese then it probably would have been more sensible to only get a japanese 3DS and import and play all your games in Japanese.
     
  8. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    oh yeah yeah this guy just hacked into the 3DS and made the region lock go away.
    He said he won't release it though until someone else has released region lock.
    he said it's gonna be called R4-Unlock
    he's already accepting money.
    and he made a message saying haha scammed.
    wonder what that was all about..
    anyway cant wait.
     
  9. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    everyone pm and email this girl.
    She has answers!!!
    And she's selling!!!
     
  10. Squeeks

    Newcomer Squeeks Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What message do you get if you stick a different region cart into a 3DS?
     
  11. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,721
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Really? Your trolling right? The system just came out and you expect the region lock to be cracked already?
    Please sir, leave the video game scene, you are clearly a moron.
     
  12. akaibara
    OP

    Newcomer akaibara Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    From the videos I've seen you get nothing. The 3DS won't even acknowledge a cart is inside.
     
  13. CCNaru

    Member CCNaru Warn-free Since 2005

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    USA USA USA USA USA USA USA US
    Country:
    United States
    He clearly made a follow up post saying he just wanted to know the progress or if anyone announced that they're gonna work on it already after Rydian said the same thing you said in a much more nonhostile way, read the previous fucking posts before trying to say shit? you're the moron here and should get the fuck out of these forums.
     
  14. Squeeks

    Newcomer Squeeks Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah I don't get half the people on these boards.

    "Hey guys does the Acekard 2i work on the 3DS?????????"
    "NO YOU IDIOT YOU SHOULD KILL YOURSELF YOU DONT DESERVE A 3DS FOR BEING SUCH A MORON I BET YOU DONT EVEN KNOW HOW TO TURN IT ON"
    "lol u told him! i wish i could give u internet for it XD epic win"

    Try the following instead!

    "Hey guys does the Acekard 2i work on the 3DS?????????"
    "Please read the forums in the future to avoid making a duplicate topic. [link to thread about subject]"
    other members ignore thread as what needed to be said has been said, mod locks thread.

    That said, this is a perfectly fine thread imo, as it focuses on one aspect that hasn't been discussed much anywhere yet because DID YOU DUMP THE ROMS YET AND CAN I PLAY THEM I WANT TO PLAY ALL THE ROMS!
     
  15. SS4

    Member SS4 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    In front of my Computer
    Country:
    Canada
    I never buy a system at launch, I always wait til a few revision and this way i end up with a better product as well as a better game library to pick from, cheaper price tag and most hack/fix work done already. I have enough game on current system i own to last me more than enough lol.
     
  16. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,721
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The Catboy takes back nothing he says and will not change his option. Deal with it
     
  17. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or missing features and cheaper components.
     
  18. Knyaz Vladimir

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    2012, then. Nintendo isn't going to be doing anything like the DS Lite within 6 months, that's for sure.

    Only design flaw with 3DS is battery life (or that's the only one I can tell), and the PowerPak + enhances the battery life by above two times. Carry both the batteries and the wrist strap charger (or two [​IMG]) and you'll get about 20 hours of battery life, or about 60-70 with 3D off. (Note: That was an estimate, so I can't be too sure.)
     

Share This Page