Is Priiloader safe to install?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by lixoman100, May 28, 2010.

May 28, 2010
  1. lixoman100
    OP

    Newcomer lixoman100 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi,

    Sorry if this sounds noobish, but I need to know how risky is it to install Priiloader.
    A friend of mine has an Wii that is one of the newer ones that does not allow bootmii to be installed on boot2. I installed the homebrew channel on it, Hermes IOSes and was done with it. It is running System Menu 4.2U.

    Now I wanted to install some custom channels for him and wanted some protection before doing so. After some reading, it seems that Priiloader is the best option, as it would allow me access to the Homebrew channel in case of a banner brick so I can use whatever to uninstall a problematic channel.

    My question is, how risky is it to install Priiloader on his Wii? I assume it should be as risky as installing the Homebrew Channel - which is, very low risk (mostly due to power failure or something of the sort). I would appreciate any insight on this matter just to be sure what are the odds.

    Thank you.
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,940
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    It messes with your system menu a little, but the risk isn't big enough not to install it [​IMG]
    You should definitely install it if there's no BootMii boot2

    Installing the HBC is safer as that doesn't mess with any important file.
     
  3. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Now, another question: I have 4 other "non-geeky" family members, and I would like some brick protection. (I can't install BootMii boot2) Is there a way to make Priiloader start only when a certain button is pressed or when certain files are present on the SD Card?
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,940
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    By default, it'll only load the priiloader menu if you hold the reset button on the wii when it boots. [​IMG]
     
  5. El Rey

    Newcomer El Rey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    I am interested in installing the latest priiloader but I am on 3.2u. Do I have to be on a higher version to install the lastest priiloader?
     
  6. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for telling me, there's absolutely no reason to do that without PriiLoader installed!
     
  7. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Update to 4.2, that way you have all the latest IOS's, then re-hack, and definatley install Priiloader 0.4 (or whatevers latest when you do it)

    Installing Custom Channels or other shit is much more risky than installing Priioader.

    And installing channels without Priiloader is just aking for a Brick !!
     
  8. Sanfransexstar

    Newcomer Sanfransexstar Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to change the subject, but speaking of priiloader... Do I have to do anything special to play PAL backups on my NTSC wii if I have the force region option turned on for priiloader? thanks
     
  9. El Rey

    Newcomer El Rey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for your quick response. I found this website for upgrading to 4.1u. Let me know what you think: http://wehackwii.pbworks.com/Firmware There are many tutorials for installing priiloader....do you have one that you recommend?
     
  10. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  11. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    installing while the power is fluctuating is dangerous. [​IMG]
     
  12. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Some things:

    -4.2 is the best SM to have, since the Wii cannot lock you out of anything (Shop or SMG2)

    -Installing channels made with Crap is 100% safe

    -PriiLoader isn't an Anti-Brick. It is an Anti-Brick that only works for experts.
     
  13. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Disagree, Priiloader's a much better anti-brick, than not having it installed at all.

    Is not as good as 'bootmii as boot2', but a whole lot better than nothing.
     
  14. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    bullocks.
    the most done brick is stub ios installation or faulty sys menu.

    and guess what! priiloader doesn't help with that!
     
  15. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, but again, if you don't know how to use Priiloader, it won't help a bit.
     
  16. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Priiloader will let you boot the HBC to allow you to re-install the System Menu if its faulty, but agree, wont help if you hose the SM IOS.

    But, as stated, its much better than not having it installed.

    And if you dont know how to use it, you can always ask later (assuming your not too stupid and don't panic). Its too late if its not installed =)
     
  17. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    bannerbricks is the only thing it will help against

    also, with faulty SM i dont mean any typical "system is corrupt" messages and shit like that. with faulty System menu i see real issues like halfly installed system menu or no system menu at all
     

Share This Page