Is my Wii unusable?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by the mario, Dec 1, 2008.

Dec 1, 2008

Is my Wii unusable? by the mario at 4:42 AM (2,654 Views / 0 Likes) 29 replies

  1. the mario
    OP

    Member the mario GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    I recently installed the backup loader cIOS and channel on my Wii, and I tried out a few burned games on DVD-R. They worked fine for about a week, but today I started getting black error screens whenever I tried to load a game disc. I tried updating to system version 3.4 (I'd been using 3.2 up until then), but I still got the error screens. I then tried a full-out system format, with the files that djtaz had provided to reinstall homebrew ready on an SD card. Still no go, can't even run Twilight Princess to get the hack going.

    So I don't know what caused this, but my Wii simply won't load discs. Will I have to send it in for repairs, or what?
     


  2. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    no you don't wait for the Big Moe's Installer v3 it should be done in a few hours and you follow it to get your self back to 3.2 with all the goodies , any further help PM me [​IMG]
     
  3. dnmn8r

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    No, don't listen to Moe. It wont work. Whatever the installer is, it will most probably require homebrew channel, or the ability to run the twilight channel. Since you don't have homebrew channel (assumingly, since you formatted) and you can't run twilight princess, you won't be able to.
    I had the same problem, did the exact same thing.
    I also bought a chip, that didn't work either.

    Just send it to Nintendo.

    Edit: I'm not saying Moe's isntaller is bad or anything (since i don't know what it is) I'm just saying it wont work for you, so don't get your hopes up..
     
  4. the mario
    OP

    Member the mario GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Cool, I look forward to it.

    Ah, in that case, maybe not.
     
  5. PaisaPK

    Newcomer PaisaPK Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    yeah
    had same problem
    i think its a hardware problem
    just hope u still have waranty
     
  6. dnmn8r

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    not a hardware problem, its the result of changing your region settings...
     
  7. the mario
    OP

    Member the mario GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Is it? Because I don't remember manually changing my region settings, and all the games I ripped were the NTSC versions.

    Is this just one of the risks you take by using shady software? Did Nintendo send out some anti-piracy crackdown? Or maybe I used the wrong type of DVD-R or burning speed?
     
  8. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    check what I'm going to send you via pm , and did you try the regular twilight hack or the new one b2 for the 3.4 version ??
     
  9. the mario
    OP

    Member the mario GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    I appreciate it, but I don't think your fix is going to work if I can't load the actual Twilight Princess disc in the first place.
     
  10. dnmn8r

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    maybe u incorrectly installed a cIOS?
     
  11. the mario
    OP

    Member the mario GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe. It did work for a week, though.
     
  12. PaisaPK

    Newcomer PaisaPK Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    yeah
    mine too
    i really do insist its a hardware problem
    software that forces a disc drive to read other type of media its not supposed to
    meh
    not worth it
    i'll rather stick to emulation and other free stuff
    software is free
    hardware cost money =]
     
  13. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    The wii drive is a DVD Drive. The system calls to play DVD's were already on the wii. Nintendo Simply chose to use a slightly different file system for their discs to avoid paying royalties. The software is not forcing the wii to read media it wasn't intended to. Playing DVD's on a DVD drive is not the issue.
     
  14. the mario
    OP

    Member the mario GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    So, do we know what typically causes this? I'd like to know what to do differently after I get a repaired Wii.
     
  15. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    mario - i have tried to explain this to you numerious times - MY FILES DO NOT WORK ON 3.4

    the second link in my signature had files there that did work on 3.4, (NOT THE FIRST LINK BUT THIS ONE : http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=118446 ) but emperorofcanada took them off and wants people to PM him about them

    PM him and ask him for the files and follow hiw guide and you can install the TP hack on 3.4

    you just dont read what im saying - you THINK you read what im typing , but ur skipping over the important parts and doing that YOU THINK im saying and not what im actually saying.
     
  16. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Haha. *hands DJ a cookie*
     
  17. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    unless theres a relaxing agent in that cookie.... im watching my weight
     
  18. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    @ mario, my files also work on 3.4, and don't involve a downgrade, but you get no starfall, so if that's what you want, eoc is the one to talk to.
     
  19. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    *hands DJ a valium*
     
  20. the mario
    OP

    Member the mario GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry djtaz, if I caused you any annoyance. It's just I'm not really concerned about whose zip file does what right now, and more about the usability of my Wii, y'know?

    So EoC, do your files work on 3.4 without the need for Twilight Princess? If so, it'd be great if you PMed me them.
     

Share This Page