is my computer good?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by pikachu945, Oct 26, 2010.

Oct 26, 2010

is my computer good? by pikachu945 at 1:41 AM (1,819 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
    AMD Athlon II X2 250
    Regor 45nm Technology
    4.0GB Dual-Channel DDR2 402MHz
    ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2A74-AM
    512MB GeForce 8400 GS
    488GB Seagate ST3500418AS ATA Device
    HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22NS50 ATA Device

    built it myself yay!
     


  2. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that's not bad at all. That would practically play every game I play.
     
  3. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    oo that's good, how much did it cost ?

    it's umm... okay . i'd say it's slightly above avg. seeing as it has a graphics card already and 4GBs of RAM . it's just. your graphics card, processor and RAM are pretty, low . DDR2, how about DDR3? Athlon X2, consider Phenom II . GeForce 8400 o_o, wut .
     
  4. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    it cost my 500 dollars all together on ebay!!!
    plus I am not a heavy gamer anyways
     
  5. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    CPU is ok, overclock it and it'll be better.
    GPU is barely a step up from integrated to be honest.
     
  6. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    If you are not into heavy gaming, it is good enough.
     
  7. Bulit

    Member Bulit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    ddr2 ram is fine.
    Your specific ddr2 ram is slow, however, clocked at only 400 MHz.
    If you're a casual pc user, that is fine, for now.
    Start saving up for a new pc though.
     
  8. JonthanD

    Member JonthanD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Sitting
    Country:
    United States
    Best answer is "Do you think its good enough?" if you say yes then who cares what anyone else thinks [​IMG]

    For 500 clams its fine, you didn't get ripped off at least [​IMG]


    Edit:


    Yeah but its dual channel so its like 800mhz so its fine even for gaming. The difference between 400Mhz DDR2 and 533Mhz DDR2 is pretty minimal to be honest in most aps its almost non existent.
     
  9. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 22, 2015
  10. Bulit

    Member Bulit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    wait, you built it today?
    Why the hell did you buy extremely out-dated components?
    You got ripped off also.
    That shouldn't cost you $500.
    Congrats on building your (presumably) first pc though. [​IMG]
    I suggest you return the parts and let us choose better hardware for you.
     
  11. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Quad core is only better if he's going to do mult-threaded tasks. Also for gaming, dual cores tend to be better because they have a higher clock speed.

    To the OP, if this is your first computer, it's not a bad start. Certainly better than the 166Mhz computer I started with, although it did last me all the way from Win 3.1 to the end of the Win 98 era. It will handle a fair selection of low and medium level games, or watch movies without jittering. It should also be able to handle any Facebook games if you're into that sort of thing. Afterwards, you may want to save up for your next upgrade, presumably in a little over a year or two when you start feeling that it's too old/slow for the newer games you want to play, and when better choices are much more affordable.
     
  12. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'm sure the graphics card is better than the ways you guys put it, like if it was some shit.
    it does well tbh (mind you i have the laptop version anyways nad it does well in handeling dolphin.
    in some games there are slight graphical issues but nothing major.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think doing well in handling Wii graphics is anything to brag about compared to modern PC games. [​IMG]
     
  14. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,660
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    A 250 as CPU and a 8400GS as GPU? [​IMG]

    Sad to say this, but it's above average, nothing more.

    I actually build this same configuration as "entry level", where I work [​IMG]
    And we do sell them for ~$450. (remember that components cost a lot much here! [​IMG])
     
  15. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 22, 2015
  16. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    ok, thats true, fine this graphics card is rubbish [​IMG]
     
  17. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe for newer games, designed for PhenomII X4 and X6 or any of the hyper-threaded Core i CPUs, but do you really think the OP is going to be playing those newer games with his specs?
     
  18. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yep, that's right. Most. But even now, lots of games that are being made aren't optimized for more than 2 cores.
     
  19. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    i'd say not so much.

    i spent 734 (shipping and taxes included)
    phenom II X4 @3.2 (this is an oc'd X3 black edition)
    amd radeon hd 5850
    4 GB DDR3 (can't remember the speed, but it's good without being overkill)
    1 TB hdd 7200 rpm, sata 6.0 Gbps
    usb3.0 on the motherboard
    antec three hundred case
    650 W antec earthwatts

    third party heatsink and fan, standard dvd burner, and the motherboard only has one pci-e (i'd rather upgrade the card than crossfire it)

    i'm pretty sure that this can run circles around your machine. and ebay? that was a bad idea.
     
  20. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    im not sure what was spent on my new pc that i just got for my birthday but it came kitted with
    a core i5 760 quadcore @2.8, a nvidia gtx 470 1280meg, 8gig ddr3, 4x1Tb hdds, 27" asus monitor
    pc is slightly overkill
     

Share This Page