Gaming is my computer good?

pikachu945

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
691
Trophies
0
XP
427
Country
Canada
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
AMD Athlon II X2 250
Regor 45nm Technology
4.0GB Dual-Channel DDR2 402MHz
ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2A74-AM
512MB GeForce 8400 GS
488GB Seagate ST3500418AS ATA Device
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22NS50 ATA Device

built it myself yay!
 

Splych

GBAtemp's Lurker
Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,952
Trophies
0
Location
Canada, Ontario.
Website
Visit site
XP
502
Country
oo that's good, how much did it cost ?

it's umm... okay . i'd say it's slightly above avg. seeing as it has a graphics card already and 4GBs of RAM . it's just. your graphics card, processor and RAM are pretty, low . DDR2, how about DDR3? Athlon X2, consider Phenom II . GeForce 8400 o_o, wut .
 

pikachu945

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
691
Trophies
0
XP
427
Country
Canada
Splych said:
oo that's good, how much did it cost ?

it's umm... okay . i'd say it's slightly above avg. seeing as it has a graphics card already and 4GBs of RAM . it's just. your graphics card, processor and RAM are pretty, low . DDR2, how about DDR3? Athlon X2, consider Phenom II . GeForce 8400 o_o, wut .

it cost my 500 dollars all together on ebay!!!
plus I am not a heavy gamer anyways
 

Bulit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
292
Trophies
0
Location
San Jose, CA
Website
Visit site
XP
150
Country
United States
ddr2 ram is fine.
Your specific ddr2 ram is slow, however, clocked at only 400 MHz.
If you're a casual pc user, that is fine, for now.
Start saving up for a new pc though.
 

JonthanD

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2010
Messages
279
Trophies
0
Age
48
Location
Sitting
XP
201
Country
United States
Best answer is "Do you think its good enough?" if you say yes then who cares what anyone else thinks
smile.gif


For 500 clams its fine, you didn't get ripped off at least
smile.gif



Edit:

Bulit said:
ddr2 ram is fine.
Your specific ddr2 ram is slow, however, clocked at only 400 MHz.
If you're a casual pc user, that is fine, for now.
Start saving up for a new pc though.


Yeah but its dual channel so its like 800mhz so its fine even for gaming. The difference between 400Mhz DDR2 and 533Mhz DDR2 is pretty minimal to be honest in most aps its almost non existent.
 

Bulit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
292
Trophies
0
Location
San Jose, CA
Website
Visit site
XP
150
Country
United States
wait, you built it today?
Why the hell did you buy extremely out-dated components?
You got ripped off also.
That shouldn't cost you $500.
Congrats on building your (presumably) first pc though.
grog.gif

I suggest you return the parts and let us choose better hardware for you.
 

Originality

Chibi-neko
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,716
Trophies
1
Age
34
Location
London, UK
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
1,884
Country
Arctic said:
I think you way over paid... That's just me though. GPU is shit, CPU is OK but a quad core would be much better.
Quad core is only better if he's going to do mult-threaded tasks. Also for gaming, dual cores tend to be better because they have a higher clock speed.

To the OP, if this is your first computer, it's not a bad start. Certainly better than the 166Mhz computer I started with, although it did last me all the way from Win 3.1 to the end of the Win 98 era. It will handle a fair selection of low and medium level games, or watch movies without jittering. It should also be able to handle any Facebook games if you're into that sort of thing. Afterwards, you may want to save up for your next upgrade, presumably in a little over a year or two when you start feeling that it's too old/slow for the newer games you want to play, and when better choices are much more affordable.
 

Dter ic

~
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,757
Trophies
1
Age
26
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
296
Country
i'm sure the graphics card is better than the ways you guys put it, like if it was some shit.
it does well tbh (mind you i have the laptop version anyways nad it does well in handeling dolphin.
in some games there are slight graphical issues but nothing major.
 

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,713
Country
Italy
A 250 as CPU and a 8400GS as GPU?
unsure.gif


Sad to say this, but it's above average, nothing more.

I actually build this same configuration as "entry level", where I work
ph34r.gif

And we do sell them for ~$450. (remember that components cost a lot much here!
tongue.gif
)
 

Originality

Chibi-neko
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,716
Trophies
1
Age
34
Location
London, UK
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
1,884
Country
Arctic said:
Originality said:
Arctic said:
I think you way over paid... That's just me though. GPU is shit, CPU is OK but a quad core would be much better.
Quad core is only better if he's going to do mult-threaded tasks. Also for gaming, dual cores tend to be better because they have a higher clock speed.
WRONG! Most new games nowadays can use up all four cores (like BFBC2). This was right maybe a year or two ago, but now quads are very useful for gaming. 2.5GHz Quad > 3.0GHz Dual.
Maybe for newer games, designed for PhenomII X4 and X6 or any of the hyper-threaded Core i CPUs, but do you really think the OP is going to be playing those newer games with his specs?
 

Berthenk

Epitome of Awesomeness
Member
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,308
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
170
Country
Netherlands
Arctic said:
Originality said:
Arctic said:
I think you way over paid... That's just me though. GPU is shit, CPU is OK but a quad core would be much better.
Quad core is only better if he's going to do mult-threaded tasks. Also for gaming, dual cores tend to be better because they have a higher clock speed.
WRONG! Most new games nowadays can use up all four cores (like BFBC2). This was right maybe a year or two ago, but now quads are very useful for gaming. 2.5GHz Quad > 3.0GHz Dual.
Yep, that's right. Most. But even now, lots of games that are being made aren't optimized for more than 2 cores.
 

sweenish

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
704
Trophies
0
Location
WA
XP
112
Country
United States
i'd say not so much.

i spent 734 (shipping and taxes included)
phenom II X4 @3.2 (this is an oc'd X3 black edition)
amd radeon hd 5850
4 GB DDR3 (can't remember the speed, but it's good without being overkill)
1 TB hdd 7200 rpm, sata 6.0 Gbps
usb3.0 on the motherboard
antec three hundred case
650 W antec earthwatts

third party heatsink and fan, standard dvd burner, and the motherboard only has one pci-e (i'd rather upgrade the card than crossfire it)

i'm pretty sure that this can run circles around your machine. and ebay? that was a bad idea.
 

DKAngel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
799
Trophies
1
Age
42
Location
Perth,Australia
Website
Visit site
XP
1,023
Country
im not sure what was spent on my new pc that i just got for my birthday but it came kitted with
a core i5 760 quadcore @2.8, a nvidia gtx 470 1280meg, 8gig ddr3, 4x1Tb hdds, 27" asus monitor
pc is slightly overkill
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=k_GTIL7AECQ