Is it possible..?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by GamerzHell9137, Sep 23, 2012.

Sep 23, 2012

Is it possible..? by GamerzHell9137 at 12:40 PM (1,040 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. GamerzHell9137
    OP

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Is it possible that my Nvidia GT 230 does not have 6pin PCI-e slot??
    Like i said in my previous thread, I am chaving problems to play games like Left 4 Dead 2 and Sega and All Star racing but can play Dreamcast Collection.

    How does the graphic card get the energy from the PSU if there is no PCI-e socket on it??

    [​IMG]

    This is how it looks like
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Power is supplied through the slot itself normally.

    Extra power connectors are a recent thing, done by graphics cards that need more power than the slot is rated to provide.
     
  3. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    The Nvidia Geforce 230GT is a low-power GPU and does not need additional power excluding what it gets from the PCI-E slot to my knowledge

    It's not very recent at all, but rather something that has been done for a fair share of time when it comes to power demanding GPUs.
     
  4. GamerzHell9137
    OP

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    But why can't i play games like Left 4 Dead 2 and Sega and All Star?
    I could before i had the 500W PSU.
    My PC got a electrial shock so the shop changed my PSU.
     
  5. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Two possible things that could have happened is that when your previous PSU died it managed to cripple some other component in your computer, maybe not completely crippling it but rather make it less functional. Another thing that could have happened is that your current PSU does not supply a stable enough power rate causing strange things to happen.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I was talking overall, like back in ISA and such where slot-derived power was the norm (and still is for PCI and PCI-E x1 and such). PCI-E x16 GPUs are the only time I've seen extra connectors, but I didn't do much with GPus back in the AGP days (past AGP 2x).

    @[member='GamerzHell9137']
    Are you sure they didn't change your GPU too?
     
  7. GamerzHell9137
    OP

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    They didn't.
    Right??

    [​IMG]

    And something funny was going on right now.
    I saved a pic from gif to png on Paint.NET and it said saving and then i got the Nvidia Windows Kernel mode driver error.
    I Really don't know whats going on.....
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Try updating your drivers.
    http://www.geforce.com/drivers
     
  9. GamerzHell9137
    OP

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
  10. GamerzHell9137
    OP

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    I..... I think i found the problem.
    When my GPU is at temperature 41+ C it stops to work.
    When i play Dreamcast collection i get around 37 C
    On Sega and All Star racing on SD with ressolution of 640x480 i get around 38 C
    When i make the resolution higher then it crashes.
    Its same with Left 4 Dead 2.
    On low resolution it got to 41 C after a half hour of playing and i got dc-ed.

    So.. the GPU is damaged?


    EDIT:Hmmmm maybe not...
    I played L4F2 and it got to 39 C and errored.
     
  11. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,721
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I don't think that the GPU is damaged - you'd see artifacting at the very least. 41 degrees is not such a bad temperature, if the card doesn't have a PCI-E 6-pin then it probably doesn't need one.

    If the only difference made in your setup was the PSU, then clearly the new PSU doesn't give your computer enough power. To me, it makes perfect sense.
     
  12. GamerzHell9137
    OP

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Right now i tried the render test on GPU-Z and on 45 C it was ok, till i opened Paint.NET then i got a black screen

    Well a friend and i are gonna test it with a 550 W.
    If you say its the PSU then it NEEDS to work with the 550
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The thing about power supplies is that it's a hell of a lot more complicated than the max wattage they list. It's entirely possible to have a "750W" PSU only be able to give half the power to you video card as a competing "500W". There's rails, efficiency, which rails combined can be pulled at the same time, whether +12v is one rail or multiple, blah blah blah.

    They might have just stuck a cheap PSU in.
     
  14. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,721
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I'm willing to bet that they did whatever they could to get rid of the complaining customer as fast as humanly possible, grabbed the very first PSU they could find on their desks at the service station, mounted it and got on with their lives, especially if the first PSU got damaged due to the user's negligence. Tech support isn't always good and the fact that they swapped a 500W PSU for a 400W one would be a tell-tale sign that no thought went into mounting it.

    Rydian's right - there's a whole lot about PSU's people don't normally realize. If the mainboard is not getting enough power to keep the processor, GPU and RAM alive at peak efficiency, but just about enough power to boot the computer, you will get blue screens when the components demand more power under stress.
     
  15. GamerzHell9137
    OP

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    So i played some Flyff and downloaded MSI Afterbrner to check my GPU.
    Like i said i played Flyff and i got Kernel Error so i checked my GPU temperatures and stuff.
    And i saw this:

    [​IMG]

    GPU Usage 79 %....

    Ehh for a game like Flyff?
    I think the GPU Usage is the problem,not the temeprature.

    So is the PSU still the issue or is it something else making the problems?
     

Share This Page