Internal Boot Rom Dumper

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by DeltaBurnt, Feb 16, 2010.

Feb 16, 2010

Internal Boot Rom Dumper by DeltaBurnt at 12:13 AM (2,442 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I've had this idea awhile for an internal boot rom dumper, kind of like the ROM dumpers we have now but for flashcarts. The program would let you view the files on the root of the flashcart and dump them to your computer. Also for the program to support each flashcart you could use DLDI (the flashcarts would be helping people hack them and edit them).

    Obviously there'd be no way to edit the internal boot rom, but if the flashcart has any sort of configuration files or any other sort of file it could be possible to edit those.

    I asked on #dsidev on efnet and a couple people said it probably would be possible.

    So basically I'm asking if this is possible, because once I get with learning C++ after C# this'll probably be the first thing I attempt to code.
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Rudolph's NDS Backup Tool doesn't work?

    I know it works on my R4, just load it up and when it asks you to insert a game, pull the MicroSD card and put the flashcart back in.
     
  3. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm, I'll test that.
     
  4. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Start small and work your way up. I wouldn't start out with something this complex.
     
  5. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I realize that, that's why I put the "attempt" in there.

    EDIT: I just tried the backup tool for my M3i Zero and it says "The card of Slot-1 cannot be recognized. Please pull out once, and set it again.".
     
  6. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Probably because the contact between the cart and the DS is bad.
     
  7. dnniwa485

    Member dnniwa485 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    didnt try this on Slot-1

    but i tried dump my Slot-1 Cart (via Slot-2). And it seems im able to dump the content of my flashcart.. (all of them are 16megs ROM) and the ROM is identified of somegame (in my case DSTT show a FISH TYCOON game)
     
  8. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Guys, that NDS Backup tool is used for dumping RETAIL GAMES, not flashcarts.
     
  9. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    That's why I assumed it wouldn't work, and mainly the whole reason I had the idea for this homebrew.
     
  10. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't mean it won't work... it worked perfectly fine on my R4.
    Though I would have to assume that dev teams have tried to protect their info and would find ways from it to be dumped.
     
  11. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    I successfully dumped DSTT and AK2i(DSLite area) using NDS_Backup_Tool Wifi
     
  12. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,719
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rudolph had to remove all support for M3 products in his apps. They made him do it for some reason. Anyway, if you have another card, use it to load the program, then switch it out for the M3i Zero with no SD card in. Then it might work.
     
  14. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Rudolph blocked the M3 carts to use any of his programs because he knew that the M3 could fail in the future and didn't want to support that cart, actually the real reason is because Rudolph cracked Sakura to work on any other flashcart and M3 team sent him a law suit or something like that and he got mad and stopped letting his homebrews work on m3. His homebrew work partcially on the Acekard 2i too because of AKAIOs DLDI method. So I am forced to use his homebrews on my R4 which work.

    I am sure there are cracked versions of his homebrew that will work on the M3.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  15. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    hm... do you know where i could download this cracked Sakura because m3i is a failing piece of shit; it worked for a little while then just stops working and i try to use my DS Lite to flash it like the Support Team suggested and
    IT BRICKED MY DS LITE!
    A FULL BRICK!
    I CAN'T USE IT AT ALL NOW.
    I AM NEVER USING M3 PRODUCTS AGAIN(The Sakura menu is nice)OR SUGGESTING THEM TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY!!!
     
  16. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Wait how did the M3 brick your DS lite?
     
  17. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    ^you tell me. i just put in a game, turned on the ds, took the game out, put in the m3, saw nothing happened, turned off the ds, tried to turn it back on and it would not turn on(yes i checked to make sure the battery was not dead)
     
  18. doubleOmega

    Newcomer doubleOmega Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    something like this happened to me before... just let it rest for about an hour and turn it on... if that won't work try checking that fuse that is known for blowing.
     
  19. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I highly doubt it's bricked, even if the battery isn't dead it could be that the battery isn't giving sufficient power to the DS or that it's not put in properly.
     

Share This Page