Installing StarCraft on Multiple PCs

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Chris_Skylock, Mar 14, 2010.

Mar 14, 2010
  1. Chris_Skylock
    OP

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    I finally got the STARCRACFT BATTLE CHESS and Im wondering if it's alright to install this baby on 3 computers?

    Im not planning to go online but I dont want to install this on 10000000000 PCs. I just want to play on 3 different PCs (family desktop, my personal laptop and my sis's laptop and my brother's laptop to make it 4 PCs)

    I cant find the info but is there an Anti-Piracy like limited to install or something?

    PS: Am I qualified for StarCraft 2 Beta Test?

    I'll post some pics after I download Ubuntu via torrent
     
  2. mkoo

    Member mkoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Turkey
    I think they removed cd check at some later patch.
     
  3. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    They removed all the Chests' cd-checks with patches.
     
  4. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you no longer need the CD to play as long as you update to the latest patch. However, you still have 1 CD-key only so that means you will not be able to play LAN with your other computers that used the same key to install. You can bypass this by downloading a keygen or finding a random key online; they will work for single player and LAN but not on Battle.net.

    To find out if you were accepted into the beta, just log-in here: https://us.battle.net/login/login.xml?ref=h...xml&app=bam

    Starcraft is a really old game, there's no way in hell it has DRM.
     
  5. Chris_Skylock
    OP

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    So I can install it to 4 PCs?

    I know I only allowed to use 1 key for online and Battle Net.

    Thank you so much


    ---


    FUCK!! My powerful desktop PC wont start. I have a high chance using that one for the SC2 beta. T_T
     
  6. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    lol you mean starcraft battle chest? well if want the multiple copies to plan LAN or w/e, then go to iccup.com and dl it there. it is the largest private server (and it's not illegal, its allowed by blizzard).

    also, if you wanna be eligible for the starcraft 2 beta, go on battle.net and submit an entry. you might be randomly chosen.
     
  7. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    EVERYONE can now use the original unaltered versions of StarCraft and WarCraft 3, even pirates. SC requires that you copy two big fat mpq files off the CDs into the game folder after applying the patch, read the patch log to see which ones. After that the only difference between the originals and pirateds is that you can't play on battle.net.
     

Share This Page