Hacking Installing CFW?

goemon_guy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Canada
XP
899
Country
Canada
Well, I'm buying an extra PS3 for CFW usage.

The model I'm purchasing is supposed to have 3.50 pre-installed, and that should leave me capable of installing 3.55 kmeaw.

I've read several guides, and the general idea appears to be:

Install OFW 3.55 from USB,
Install CFW 3.55 from USB,
Done.

But, I'm not entirely sure if this is 100% correct, or if I'm missing some vital steps.
I'd be following a guide, but that's just the general gist of the procedure.

Also, I'd want to update to a more recent CFW, if possible, but can't find any consistent information on how to do so. If someone could point me to a tutorial/guide they can vouch for, that would be great.
 

J-Machine

Self proclaimed Pog champion
Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
885
Trophies
0
Location
A concrete Igloo
XP
1,398
Country
Canada
i'm sitting on kmeaw right now and like the tc, would like a definitive guide to a more recent cfw.

as for your answer.... unfortunatly I did this over a year ago and dont really remember what i did.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,459
Country
France
yes it's the main step to do.
1 - update to OFW 3.55
2- install CFW
Done ;)

There are extra steps that you can/should do, like doing a NAND/NOR Backup and enabling QA flag (a system to let you downgrade easily without an hardware flasher, in case you need to downgrade in the future).

There are two main CFW : ReBug and Rogero.
ReBug has more features than Rogero, Rogero is simpler (by having less features).
But you can install ReBug and don't use extra features, it will look like Rogero.

http://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-install-the-latest-rebug-cfw.347855/
 

goemon_guy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Canada
XP
899
Country
Canada
Well, thanks for that!

What is the latest version of ReBug? A quick search leads me to believe that the latest is ReBug 4.41.2 Lite.

Secondly, can I install ReBug over 3.55 kmeaw? Or do I have to revert to OFW first? OR Would it be simpler to just update immediately to ReBug from 3.55 OFW, rather than installing kmeaw first?

Lastly, would there ever be a circumstance where I would need to downgrade my PS3? (Regarding why the NAND backup would be recommended)
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,459
Country
France
The NAND backup is not used to downgrade, but to recover from a brick state (in case you mess with the internal files, or custom firmware breaking your console, etc., then you can restore the chipset's content back to the way it was when you did the backup).

Downgrading, on the contrary, doesn't involved any restoration of your backup. it's only "reinstalling an old firmware version" instead of installing a newer.
Downgrading was used to reinstall new CFW (because all CFW needed 3.55). Now CFW can be installed over any version of old CFW, so you shouldn't need to downgrade. But you don't know the future, if you need to downgrade then be sure that you will be able to do it by doing all the steps in tutorials.

I think you can install ReBug over Kmeaw 3.55, but I'm not very good with installing cFW so you should ask someone else.
If you have Kmeaw, it's good because you can do the NAND/NOR backup and QA Flag step, which are not possible with OFW.
 

goemon_guy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Canada
XP
899
Country
Canada
Ahh, so the NAND backup works similarly to BootMii on the Wii?
I'll just make one, using the steps in the guide you offered. Can't be too safe.

One final question (hopefully), but will any version of multiman install on 3.55 kmeaw?
Or, at least will version 4.40.00 whatever the latest version install on it?

Thanks a ton for your help!
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,459
Country
France
yes, the dump is like bootMii, but you need a hardware flasher to restore it, you can't restore with a software only.

MultiMAN dropped support for older cfw (mfw 3.40, hermes 3.41, etc.), to center his work on only very few CFWs (Rebug, Rogero, Kmeaw, and maybe MFW).
4.19 is the latest working on "old" firmwares. it was plan to remove support for 3.55 but users asked for him to keep at least that version as most users are/were using Kmeaw.
 

goemon_guy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Canada
XP
899
Country
Canada
Well, I'd like to report that installing Rebug (4.41.2) over 3.55 CFW worked perfectly.

Thank you very much for your help, Cyan!
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Searinox tempBOT:
    Searinox has left the room.
  • Costello @ Costello:
    filthy europeans
  • Costello @ Costello:
    mighty asians
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Recovering lost partitions sucks ass
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Attempting to recover a 2tb worth of movies and this 320 weirdly won't initialize
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    huraay for keeping backups
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    huraay for that backup drive being the issue back up a back up of a
    back ups :teach:
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if only you could encode the backup in your DNA and carry it with you
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    In 20 years we'll probably have micro sd cards implants in our heads
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    microsd?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I'd be okay with getting my brain taken out and replaced with one as long as its not intel or apple
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    shiet get on with the time grampa, we're using picoSD now
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Only the most important humans will have nvme installed in their head
  • _Shimon @ _Shimon:
    oh shit this exists
  • Arras @ Arras:
    wait this is where the shoutbox went?
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    What are everyone's
    thoughts on gpu prices atm?
  • Arras @ Arras:
    high
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    lol yes they are high, mate of mine just got a 1080 for $700 AUD
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    second hand which is nuts as when the 3070 came out here that's how much it was new at the time
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I
    f you have tech that can decently run games don't buy anything yet wait a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    I just got a core build upgrade, minus gpu due to price, will be running my GTX780 until I can afford an upgrade
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Prices are up because of bots and
    shortages it'll die down with a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    Yeah I imagine there will be a short period where prices are low then the next series will come out and low and behold have high prices again
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Today's games look just fine at 1080 with decent 60fos unless you have disposable income it's not really worth it
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400