Installed Bootmii as IOS!?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ninpo5537, Jan 4, 2010.

Jan 4, 2010

Installed Bootmii as IOS!? by ninpo5537 at 10:32 AM (2,495 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. ninpo5537
    OP

    Newcomer ninpo5537 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Please excuse the Noob question...

    New to hacking, Jumped in head first without reading enough on it, and have installed Bootmii as IOS, everything working perfectly, I do remember I had an option to install as Boot2 also, but it didnt have an uninstall like IOS, so went for IOS instead.
    Reading this forum it looks like I cant recover from a brick without having it as boot2, what are my options, can i change it somehow to boot2?

    I regularly install wads, so maybe should i stop doing this? (if this could brick my wii...)

    Many thanks in advance.
     


  2. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Install as boot2 ! Especially when you're installing wad and stuff.
     
  3. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just run the installer again, but install as boot2 this time.
     
  4. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You can even have it installed to boot2 and ios if you want.
     
  5. ninpo5537
    OP

    Newcomer ninpo5537 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for your replies, so if i go back through the same procedure and use bannerbomb to run hackmii installer and just install bootmii as boot2 only then it will work? do i need to uninstall bootmii as IOS first?
     
  6. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    yep just runn the hackmii installer again and install as boot2, also leave the bootmii ios there dont need to touch it
     
  7. ninpo5537
    OP

    Newcomer ninpo5537 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cheers matey [​IMG]
     
  8. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need to use banner bomb to run the installer. Just chuck it in a folder in apps on your SD card and run it from the homebrew channel.
     
  9. zero66

    Newcomer zero66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    i installed as ios too but when i go back into install it says the installed boot1 version prevents a boot2 install(-2). what can i do?
     
  10. hatredg0d

    Member hatredg0d GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    sounds like your going to have to go with priiloader then.
     
  11. zero66

    Newcomer zero66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    yes i have priiloader installed also. tried to follow guide to a T. so if it gets bricked i can still get into priiloader and fix the wii?
     
  12. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    You must have a newer Wii which prevents bootmii to install as boot2. There's nothing you can do to get around that.
     
  13. zero66

    Newcomer zero66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    had it a year. ser lu62...
     
  14. ninpo5537
    OP

    Newcomer ninpo5537 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks guys it has installed bootmii as boot2 , now do i need to copy the newly created bootmii folder onto the SD (new) to replace the previously created bootmii folder from the bootmii as ISO installation?
     
  15. ninpo5537
    OP

    Newcomer ninpo5537 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also how can i tell if boot2 has installed correctly?
     
  16. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    your system will still boot. lol No seriously just turn the system off then on and leave the bootmii folder on the SD card as is. it should then boot into bootmii when you turn the system on. if it doesn't try a different SD card. If it still doesn't load make sure your setting in the ini file are set with an autoboot delay >0.
     
  17. ninpo5537
    OP

    Newcomer ninpo5537 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks it does boot, [​IMG]
     
  18. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    The boot1 vulnerability was patched around mid 2008.
     
  19. shaq486

    Newcomer shaq486 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Country:
    Romania
    Hi guys, maybe someone help me understand what is going on. I was installed bootmi as IOS. I was aware that the installation is not brick proof and I was rerunning again the hack and try to install bootmii as boot2. Surprise ! I do not have that option. Only Uninstall IOS (because I already installed) and prepare the SD card wich I already run it once. My question is...How the heck I install bootmii as boot2 since I do not have that option? My Wii si at software version 3.3E and he never has bean updated, only hacked. The serial on my Wii is LEF11+ Thank you for future reply's.
     
  20. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    As my post right above yours says, Wii's bought after mid 2008 have the boot1 vulnerability fixed so no Wii's from after then can ever install bootmii to boot2 no matter what. If the hackmii installer tells you something like installed boot1 prevents installation to boot2 or something of the sort under bootmii instead of "can be installed" like the HBC and dvdx, then that's that. You're not installing bootmii to boot2 and preloader/priiloader is your best brick protection option.
     

Share This Page