Inquiry About Homebrew Development

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by Sasori, Feb 5, 2016.

1. Sasori
    OP

Sasori GBAtemp Maniac

Jan 28, 2015
    United States
    I recently started learning how to make Homebrew for the Xbox 360 and would like to tie in my learnings with the 3ds scene by making a tool to connect my 3ds to my console. However I had a question in regards to the development of this application.

The xbox uses C# which is different from the 3ds so my question is. How would I be able to include the correct dependency in my 3ds application?

i.e. the 360 would use the following DLLs

Code:
    using JRPC_Client
    using xDevkit
    While I see the 3ds is setup completely differently with an "h" file.

Would someone be willing to shed some light on this, or point me in the right direction?

2. daxtsu

daxtsu GBAtemp Guru

Jun 9, 2007
    Antarctica
    An .h file is a header file for C/C++. You can't program homebrew on the 3DS in C#. You can, however use Lua and/or C/C++.

3. Sasori
    OP

Sasori GBAtemp Maniac

Jan 28, 2015
    United States
    That is what Im trying to figure out. Im trying to use C++ currently. However is it possible to call the required dependencies with this, if they are from a dll?

All the DLL does is point to the plugin that is on the console that i am trying to control

4. Joom

Joom  ❤❤❤

Jan 8, 2016
    United States
    You can use Obj-C, which you possibly may be familiar with. Though I'm wondering about the usefulness of connecting a 3DS to a 360. And no, you wouldn't be able to call a DLL on a 3DS since that's a Windows specific format (dynamically linked library). The 3DS is a lot more similar to UNIX.

Last edited by Joom, Feb 5, 2016
  5. Sasori
    OP

Sasori GBAtemp Maniac

Jan 28, 2015
    United States
    Convenience really. If you have a modified console there are some things you can do that involve RTE :)