Impossible?

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by Hatashi, Feb 12, 2011.

Feb 12, 2011

Impossible? by Hatashi at 11:26 PM (1,709 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Hatashi
    OP

    Member Hatashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, I don't have a wired router, so I use (Connectify/Windows 7 built-in Hotspot) to make networks I can connect to with my Wifi enabled devices.
    I was just wondering, is the only solution for me to access Wifi on any game (Even Pokemon HGSS/B&W) to buy a router or that Nintendo Adapter thingy :S?
     
  2. Aijelsop

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much. ;p

    Think of it like this: What about the people who can't access wifi because they can't afford a router, or have WPA protected wifi. Ha, sucks to be them. (like me, I have WPA... [​IMG] and changing won't work because my mom's laptop is stupid and can't remember the wifi password for WEP)
     
  3. Hatashi
    OP

    Member Hatashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Its not because I don't have money actually, I can't buy a router because my parents are ok with ''wired''.
    And I don't feel like paying $130 for a silly Wifi Adapater.

    There is one I saw for $12, but that one doesn't work on Windows 7.
     
  4. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Do not purchase the Nintendo Wi-Fi USB Connector.
    It's a horrible connector. It disconnects randomly and the software is really buggy. When it does work, though, it excels.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Change the SSID and then her laptop will think it's a new network and should actually save the information. Idunno' why some laptops fail at saving info if the SSID doesn't change...



    But yeah, do NOT get that damn adapter.
     
  6. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Get a used wireless router. I can find plenty of used wireless routers for USD$20-$30 here in the US.
     
  7. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    unless u have a intel wireless adapter card on a laptop, go with the router
    if u do have a intel wireless adapter for a centrino laptop, u may wanna get the intel my wifi app as it might just work (its difficult to set up at first)
     
  8. boktor666

    Member boktor666 Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Holland, somewhere :D
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I use this thing. It pwns, never disconnected, ever lol, just another useless comment :/
     
  9. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. leeday100196

    Member leeday100196 GBAtemp's Official Infernape™

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Location:
    My computer in Sharpedo Bluff
    Country:
    Australia
    if you do decide to get a wireless router, DO NOT get a D-Link router, they REALLY ARE buggy and just keep dropping out in the middle of games. it pisses me off big-time!
     
  11. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    use alternative firmware^
     
  12. Hatashi
    OP

    Member Hatashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Netherlands
  13. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my isp (virgin) gave us a router NETGEAR DG834G works perfectly for me, never ad any problems. Check your isp's webpage and if it says that a free router comes with the deal you're on, then just ring em up and ask for it. If not free they sometimes only charge like £5 for them.
     
  14. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Just be quiet.
    I also have the Nintendo Wi-Fi USB Connector and it's horrible. Disconnects randomly and sometimes doesn't connect at all. The software is buggy. I tried this on Windows XP, Vista and 7 and regardless of the OS I used, the problems persisted.
     
  15. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    He specifically specified that when it worked, it was perfect.
     
  16. npk1

    Newcomer npk1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    I used to be able to connect to our wifi [​IMG] , but now my dad switched it from wep to wpa because hislaptop was notfast enough. Now I cannot connect at all. [​IMG]
     
  17. Arithmatics

    Member Arithmatics I'll be holding on to you. ;}

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,050
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Your point?
     
  18. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The encryption level doesn't affect speed. It will probably still run slowly.
    That said, I don't know how that's relevant.
     

Share This Page