I'm sure this is an SD issue, but...

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Zantom07, Aug 7, 2009.

Aug 7, 2009
  1. Zantom07
    OP

    Newcomer Zantom07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My little bro just got his new M3DS Real and an 8gb Class 6 Sandisk microSD with it. I set it up for him, but every now or then a certain game will get to the point of coming up with the "loading" image (the one with "Game Patch 4.3f" in the corner). On the bottom screen shall be a message saying "Save file format error!".

    I'm pretty sure it is an SD error as I tested my SD on it and it worked fine, but is there any way I can get it back in working order? He's really disappointed that his Sonic Chronicles save is gone.

    2 Things I can't do:
    1) Reformat - Reformatted 4 times to no avail.
    2) Buy a new SD - I'm not in the position to do that.
     
  2. Archimdae

    Member Archimdae GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try using alternate program to reformat or just the basic built in windows one? Just a thought.
     
  3. Zantom07
    OP

    Newcomer Zantom07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I actually used the Windows one, the Mac one and the panasonic one.
     
  4. dhjohn

    Member dhjohn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    I had that screen on games that I used the "Nds Backup Tool 3in1" to pull the save from the actual cart. The m3i did not recognize the save format. Try converting them at http://www.shunyweb.info/convert.php if you know the input/output formats, or try deleting that save file.
    I'm not sure what to do if it keeps up after that.

    ~dhjohn
     
  5. Zantom07
    OP

    Newcomer Zantom07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well it works now after I formatted the whole MicroSD rather than the volume. Not sure what went wrong :S
     
  6. googs

    Member googs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    on a telephone pole
    Country:
    Canada
    the same thing happend on my R4. all you have to do is put the micro sd in the computer and find that save file for that game if thers more than on e delete both. if that dosent work than your gonna have to delete the game

    hope this helps
    Ps: if you dont want to delete the sav file move it out of the m3

    one more way: if the sav file is spelled with lower case letters then name it the same way

    iif its with capitals then do it the other way round,

    hope this helps too.
     
  7. googs

    Member googs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    on a telephone pole
    Country:
    Canada
    the same thing happend on my R4. all you have to do is put the micro sd in the computer and find that save file for that game if thers more than on e delete both. if that dosent work than your gonna have to delete the game

    hope this helps
    Ps: if you dont want to delete the sav file move it out of the m3

    one more way: if the sav file is spelled with lower case letters then name it the same way

    iif its with capitals then do it the other way round,

    hope this helps too.
     

Share This Page