Hacking iEDGE update help.

lucky1018

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Canada
Hi. Recently I figured iEDGE uploaded a new update, but to update my iEDGE card do I just overwrite my old bootstrap and change the OS on microSD and repeat the same procedure that I did in the first place?

-Thanks
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
693
Country
United States
* Download bootstrap updater from iEDGE website.
* Backup all your files in microsd.
* Format it using Pansonic SD formatter.
* Run bootstrap updater
* Put back all those files into your microsd
* Put microsd into iEDGE
* Run your DS
* Let it update, when prompt, press A
 

bitonio6

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2009
Messages
1,801
Trophies
0
XP
47
Country
Swaziland
trumpet-205 said:
* Download bootstrap updater from iEDGE website.
* Backup all your files in microsd.
* Format it using Pansonic SD formatter.
* Run bootstrap updater
* Put back all those files into your microsd
* Put microsd into iEDGE
* Run your DS
* Let it update, when prompt, press A
Are you serious?
closedeyes.gif


If you download the boostrap from the EDGE website, you need the ROM too...

With my pack, you dont need a rom, because the bootstrap updater is embeded!!!

You dont need to format your microSD
And you dont need to "put back all thoses files...." before you upgrade your iEDGE!
Otherwise you will start the upgrade process again and again!!!
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
693
Country
United States
bitonio6 said:
If you download the boostrap from the EDGE website, you need the ROM too...

With my pack, you dont need a rom, because the bootstrap updater is embeded!!!

You dont need to format your microSD
And you dont need to "put back all thoses files...." before you upgrade your iEDGE!
Otherwise you will start the upgrade process again and again!!!
Huh? First when you run bootstrap updater in PC it will generate a file inside your microSD which WILL get deleted once the process is completed in DS. When I mean putting back files I mean putting back ROM. I asked him/her to format microSD because when I tried it without format it keeps saying "Error -16".

Second you cannot embed bootstrap code in your file, because it contains copyrighted code from Nintendo. Take it out before a moderator does so.
 

anton123

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
93
Trophies
0
XP
567
Country
United States
So, basically, I have to clean up the microsd of the files and do a quick format with FAT32. Then run the boot updater with the correct rom and the microsd card and run it on the iEdge and DSi.

Then copy the rest of the stuff back including the OS 2.0?

Just making sure I got this right because of all the horror stories in the threads below.
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
693
Country
United States
Correct. Be sure to put iEDGE OS 2.0 in your microSD.

Pop iEDGE into your DS, let it update itself, press A when prompt, then you're done.
 

anton123

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
93
Trophies
0
XP
567
Country
United States
Thanks man. All updated and working. Strange that the update bin file didn't get deleted after I pressed A to shutdown the DSi. No matter, it loads up fine and works.
 

bitonio6

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2009
Messages
1,801
Trophies
0
XP
47
Country
Swaziland
trumpet-205 said:
bitonio6 said:
If you download the boostrap from the EDGE website, you need the ROM too...

With my pack, you dont need a rom, because the bootstrap updater is embeded!!!

You dont need to format your microSD
And you dont need to "put back all thoses files...." before you upgrade your iEDGE!
Otherwise you will start the upgrade process again and again!!!
Huh?
First when you run bootstrap updater in PC it will generate a file inside your microSD

which WILL get deleted once the process is completed in DS.

When I mean putting back files I mean putting back ROM.

I asked him/her to format microSD because when I tried it without format it keeps saying "Error -16".

Second you cannot embed bootstrap code in your file,
because it contains copyrighted code from Nintendo.
Take it out before a moderator does so.
Seriously, have you an iEDGE to talk about it?!

Because two time, you said stupidity!
rolleyes.gif


This file will never be erased...

Otherwise, imagine, when you have many iedge to upgrade?!


i answer you about that in my thread...

how do you think, the others flashcard team upgrade their products?!

Every FIRMWARE for DSi Flashcard, contains a DS Game signature!!!
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
693
Country
United States
I have an iEDGE, in my case the file got deleted
tongue.gif
. Yes, I know the new bootstrap has a black block and red circle game icon. It never went into repeated update cycle. I'm not sure why my situation is unique. I'm not interested in starting a flame war with you (if that is your intention).

Yes I know each flashcart is using code from Rom to bypass DSi firmware, it is still not recommend to hotlink such material here in gbatemp.
 

anton123

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
93
Trophies
0
XP
567
Country
United States
trumpet-205 said:
Yes, I can see hidden file in Windows, to be sure, I had it examined under Linux as well. No hidden file for me after the update.

Is there a way to do the iEdge updates on Linux? Their website's Linux links are permanently on coming soon.
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
693
Country
United States
anton123 said:
Is there a way to do the iEdge updates on Linux? Their website's Linux links are permanently on coming soon.
Unfortunatley no, Wine cannot run updater correctly. Only way I can think of is using a Linux virtual machine with Windows inside and run updater with it.
 

thAnus

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 5, 2012
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Thessaloníki
XP
31
Country
Greece
Question: :unsure:
I have the old EDGE cartridge but a DSi, can i put the software needed in the old EDGE and then play normally?
I cannot afford the iEDGE cartridge, that's why I'm asking.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,930
Country
United States
Question: :unsure:
I have the old EDGE cartridge but a DSi, can i put the software needed in the old EDGE and then play normally?
I cannot afford the iEDGE cartridge, that's why I'm asking.
No, the original EDGE (and other non-DSi flash carts) will not work on the DSi. It's not the software on the MicroSD, it's the bootloader of the cart that determines it.
http://hackmii.com/2010/02/lawsuit-coming-in-3-2-1/
This explains why.

You will need a DSi-compatible flash cart, but the EDGE series has not been updated in ages and is no longer recommended.
http://gbatemp.net/t290097-which-flash-cart-should-i-get
DSi flash carts nowadays are as cheap as $18 USD (or sometimes less).
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Portable Steam Deck Dock: NewQ 5-in-1 USB C Dock with TF Card Slot, HDMI 2.0 [email protected] Display...