I think my computer has malware/spyware

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by adamshinoda, Jun 8, 2011.

Jun 8, 2011
  1. adamshinoda
    OP

    Member adamshinoda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Ha Noi
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I've just downloaded and installed a software called "Bandoo". It provides emoticons for Yahoo Messenger and MSN. After a few minutes, I don't like this, so I uninstalled and reboot my computer. Now my pc is messed up. Can't go to Google, can't go too Youtube, internet speed is slowed down, even gbatemp is slow as hell.
    How can I get rid of this "bandoo" thing ? [​IMG]

    It's getting worse and worse. Now I can't scroll down in a thread, just the first post is loaded. So plz shoot me a PM in the inbox [​IMG]
     
  2. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
  3. bashscrazy

    Member bashscrazy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You can also try a system restore to an earlier date.
     
  4. tigris

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Definitely malware.
    http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/bandoo.com

    Removal:
    Shows you how to remove rogues, but works for other viruses too (By me):

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGVWQgtCvtg

    Use combofix from bleepingcomputer.com, then download malwarbytes(you may need to rename the installer/setup to something like winlogon.exe to be

    able to run or install it) from malwarebytes.com or softpedia.com, then clean the rest of the virus with superantispyware and Hitman Pro 3.5 from

    softpedia.com/cnet.com and just in case you do have a rootkit on your system use GMER from majorgeek.com(Use gmer to scan and anything in red

    delete.)

    Future Protection use this wizard to recommend security protection for your system:

    http://www.techsupportalert.com/secwiz

    or go to safe mode and then do the above:


    To get into Safe Mode with Networking:

    1. Log out and reboot your machine.
    2. When the machine starts the reboot sequence, press the F8 key repeatedly.
    3. Select Safe Mode with Networking from the resulting menu.
     
  5. TheDreamLord

    Member TheDreamLord GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    wtf o.o I have bandoo and i have no problems what so ever..... er maybe its not from the official site?
     
  6. tigris

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/bandoo.com
    Run away. Run away real fast.
     
  7. adamshinoda
    OP

    Member adamshinoda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Ha Noi
    Country:
    Vietnam
    It's a malware/ spyware, I've just found that after doing some quick look on Yahoo Answers (damn Google is blocked so I have to use Bing)
    Now I can scroll down the thread but it doesn't load immediately like normal, it takes about 10 or 20 seconds.
     
  8. adamshinoda
    OP

    Member adamshinoda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Ha Noi
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Malwarebyte scanning completed. Here is the log:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Seems like no "bandoo" was scanned
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    *cough*THE-FUCKING-STICKY*cough*

    Given the log that looks like a separate infection you picked up from the web (since it deposited itself in application data). If it was bandoo itself it'd be in a more permanent location, and would likely not be picked up by malwarebytes or other scanners unless PuP scanning was turned on (since when installing some adware if you agree to the EULA you give them legal permission so they don't count as an infection even though they may be adware).

    For more info, read the sticky.
     
  10. adamshinoda
    OP

    Member adamshinoda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Ha Noi
    Country:
    Vietnam
    My computer has been back to normal. Thanks a lot to tigris and Takeshi. And sorry Rydian, I was in a hurry then trying to fix my computer as soon as possible, so I didn't see that sticky one.
    The moderator can close this thread now [​IMG]
     

Share This Page