I really should stop updating DIOS MIOS v2.0.

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by restinpeace, Jul 10, 2012.

Jul 10, 2012
  1. restinpeace
    OP

    Newcomer restinpeace Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I really should stop updating DIOS MIOS v2.0.

    Some Gamecube Games freeze when updating dios mios.

    I tested the game NBA Street v3 on DIOS MIOS v2.0 update 5 and freezes.
    I tested it on the earlier release of DIOS MIOS v2.0 (like Update 1) and it worked fine.

    some games may have problems after updating DIOS MIOS v2.0

    I really suggest stop updating it. Even after reading the update decriptions.
     
  2. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    That's... Silly. The very idea of updates and post-update reporting is to increase compatibility - some changes are hit-and-miss, but the creator won't know that, the application will never reach full compatibility.

    If you don't want to beta test, fine, but don't try to convince others that helping out is a bad idea.
     
  3. MrKill

    Member MrKill GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    Is there really differences with those updates with game compatibility? The wiki for compatibility says that 007 Agent under fire works, but I always get Green Screen.
     
  4. Clarky

    Member Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    that is how progress is made, tinkering must be done if the great mystery of gamecube usb loading is to be solved. On the update front though....if the games you are playing already worked on the Dios Mios v2, why fix what ain't broke?
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    That's the fun part about adding functionality that was not intended or even thought to be possible - the programmer may think that a change will fix a bug in one game, but it may cause issues in another without him or her knowing. DIOS MIOS has 96kb of memory at its disposal - not nearly enough for per-game routines of booting. It just takes experimenting to find the winning combination, if one exists.
     
  6. Clarky

    Member Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    aye, I know that much about it, I was referring that the OP should stick to whatever version that works for him if he ain't interested in reporting new findings in updates. I still find it a very impressive piece of software for what it does
     
  7. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,995
    Country:
    I guess you have never heard of overlays then because per-game routines for booting is possible though they would have to be stored on the USB drive. The idea is you have a block of that memory, say 12KB that is loaded from the USB drive per game rather than built in.
     
  8. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Except Dios Mios is stored in the Gamecube-reserved portion of the memory with direct access to CPU, it has no access to USB, it only overlooks streaming of games. If it'd be so easy, crediar would've added it and NTFS support already.

    Patches will have to be embedded in the game images to work.
     
  9. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Green screen is usually a video mode problem. It is very common with component cables because crediar doesn't have a tv with component input.
    Fix94 and I had major problems but the latest is fine, but it works best if you don't try to force any video mode. On usbloadergx you ironically tick the force gc interlace, which actually disables forcing of progressive.
     
  10. PfsquadFreakz

    Newcomer PfsquadFreakz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    What smf said is valid.

    I have NBA Street v3 running without issues through usbloader gx but it will only load if I region patch and force gc interlace.
    (This needs to happens for a bunch of other games as well)
     

Share This Page