I made a doo doo (I think)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by chick8ed, Mar 3, 2012.

Mar 3, 2012
  1. chick8ed
    OP

    Newcomer chick8ed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Shecklesville
    Country:
    Canada
    I was using DOP-Mii to restore the truncha bug, and it gave me error -1.
    I think this was bad. System menu works, but when I went to play SSBB,
    the game wont load. So I have questions.
    1) Did I somehow destroy my DD?
    2)Will I have to use a back-up loader?
    3)If it destroyed my DD, is there a way to fix it?
    Reply if you must :3
     
  2. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    I can't be of any real, specific help here, but you can always just start fresh with a Modmii setup.
     
  3. chick8ed
    OP

    Newcomer chick8ed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Shecklesville
    Country:
    Canada
    errmm, I have linux. Mod mii is for windows... Wine will f*ck it up.
     
  4. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Use modmii (in the stickies) to re-mod the wii. Start up the modmii wizard, say that this is not the first time softmodding the wii, and then select the options that apply to you until you get to the screen where it asks which things to install or update. Tick 'Recommended cIOSs' and 'Active IOSs and patched System Menu IOSs' then continue with the wizard and follow the guide to install the WADs on to your Wii.

    Check if your disc drive is working now.


    EDIT: nevermind just read the above post
     
  5. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Go to your local library and bring a SD card with a usb adapter or a usb drive.
    Download and run ModMii.
    Profit!!!
     
  6. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    Then get VMWare and run a virtual windows. I thought these things were common knowledge if you were a *nix user -.-
     
  7. chick8ed
    OP

    Newcomer chick8ed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Shecklesville
    Country:
    Canada
    Did I mention my computer sucks?
    I don't know if my library will allow downloading software. especially for hacking.
     
  8. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,566
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    Do other games than SSBB work? It may just be the drive doesn't like dual layer games. SSBB worked fine on mine for a while then started to get freezing mid-game and not be recognized most of the time I inserted it.
     
  9. CheatFreak47

    Member CheatFreak47 Complex Donut

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,188
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    For starters, use dopmii to update the ios files you modified in the turcha bugging process.
     
  10. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Im sorry, but I doubt it can be any worse than my old old laptop, which ran a celeron... something... at 1.2Ghz, 512MB DDR RAM (no, not even ddr2) and a graphic card that lagged with solitaire.
    I ran debian on that and used VMWare to run a virtual WinXP installation. Worked perfectly fine... Slow - but got the job done. This was many years ago when VMWare wasnt nearly as optimized as it is now (back then, transfering files between the virtual and real OS was the latest feature, and bugged like crazy lol).
     
  11. chick8ed
    OP

    Newcomer chick8ed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Shecklesville
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know... I'll try.
    Btw, I got my wii in 2007-ish.


     
  12. andrewhan4

    Newcomer andrewhan4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm guessing you were trying to restore the Trucha bug to IOS 36, SSBB uses IOS 36 so if it's been damaged you wont be able to load SSBB. To fix it it should be as simple as reinstalling the ISO using dopmii. Failing that if you have a game that has IOS 36 included as an update, you could get a copy of WiiScrubber and extract IOS 36 then install it using a WAD Manager.

    WiiScrubber should work via WINE alternatively there is a linux port
     
  13. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    You've got to know at least 20 people who use a windows pc, and if you don't then I pity you.
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Use Multi Mod Manager. It's safer than Dop-Mii, and it will install an updated IOS36, unlike ModMii. You can download it here, just delete mmmconfig.txt
     
  15. chick8ed
    OP

    Newcomer chick8ed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Shecklesville
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried wii play, it works. Hopefully once I get a USB loader (Wiiflow is what I aim for) I can download it again :3
    As for installing IOS 36 w/ fakesign...... it gives me error -1.
     
  16. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Which IOS are you using as base for the patcher?
    Do you have IOS236?
    Or any cIOS based on IOS38?
     
  17. chick8ed
    OP

    Newcomer chick8ed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Shecklesville
    Country:
    Canada
    Nevermind. I fixed it ALL. Cleaned SSBB and launched through gecko. Works like a diamond.
     

Share This Page