i Have ubuntu

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by prowler, Oct 11, 2009.

Oct 11, 2009

i Have ubuntu by prowler at 1:17 PM (1,992 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. prowler
    OP

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Somebody said i can have a windows shell, to use windows programs on.
    I just need a few programs like UMDgen for my PSP
    So i googled search and all it comes up with is Linux on Windows
    But i did find one, it says i need to pay 30$ but i thought all Linux was free lol?
    Anyone know any?
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,660
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Google for Wine, or go to www.winehq.org
     
  3. prowler
    OP

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks (:
     
  4. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can probably just use the package manager to install Wine for you. There are a few easy packages for it though which might be more pleasant (been ages since I've installed it though, especially on ubuntu, so can't remember the name [​IMG]) which also set up IE and etc for you under wine.
     
  5. prowler
    OP

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im still learning how to use ubuntu lol. it's harder than i thought
     
  6. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could also (if its just for basic applications) run VirtualBox in seamless mode.

    This way you run your windows copy on top of your ubuntu, and it looks pretty awesome.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. prowler
    OP

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i took Windows off, because it had a virus on it that couldnt be took off lol.
    Does it need Windows on the computer?
     
  8. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nope, virtual box emulates a computer system, where you can install windows on.
    Let's say, it's a computer in you computer, you just need to install virtualbox, get a copy of windows, and install it in the virtualbox.
     
  9. Velveteer

    Member Velveteer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Australia
    So you still need the Windows install disc. Worse case scenario, you should be able to track down a Windows 7 RC. I'd still suggest that you try Wine first, as it's a better solution if it works.

    You can also choose to cut the Virtual Machine off from the net, so you shouldn't really have to worry about security in that regard.
     
  10. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    True, but everyone alsways has some windows discs lying around, or got friends with it right?
     
  11. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Or you could always *cough*obtain it*cough* and then burn it to a disc [​IMG].
     
  12. prowler
    OP

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lmao (:
    im going to try Wine first, see how it works, and i'll try that other one (:
    thanks for info
     
  13. gb-hackerz

    Newcomer gb-hackerz Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Green Book Hackers
    Country:
    United States
    Hey if you need some help check out my forums http://forum.gb-hackerz.info/ pm on my forum if you need any help. hacker07
     
  14. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    ...

    Was that blatant advertising?
     
  15. prowler
    OP

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  16. nr4irts

    Newcomer nr4irts Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    actually windows is stronger than linux on running video games.
     
  17. prowler
    OP

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    we all know that :|
    i want to be able to run Windows programs not games.
     
  18. rayben

    Member rayben GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Ive never had any luck running anything cool in wine.

    Virtualbox is the way to go. Dont install it from your package manager though, because that version doesnt have usb support.

    Get the full installer free from their site.
     
  19. gb-hackerz

    Newcomer gb-hackerz Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Green Book Hackers
    Country:
    United States
    You can call that advertising if you want lol. Yeah the Green Book Hackers has almost no members on the forum I was actually just trying to help. Im not going to lie I was also trying to get someone to go to my forum
     
  20. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wine is a LOT better than it used to be. I have Uplink, Yu-Gi-Oh and a few other games running happily through it. However for certain programs, such as Macromedia Flash 8 I find it works better through Virtualbox with a stripped XP in it.
     

Share This Page