i have 2 r4 cards

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by jeremy.n79, Jan 28, 2010.

Jan 28, 2010

i have 2 r4 cards by jeremy.n79 at 12:25 AM (1,494 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. jeremy.n79
    OP

    Newcomer jeremy.n79 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    hey guys,

    i'm actually happy to have found this site and i hope you guru's can help me with my situation.


    i followed this guide (http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=164359) step by step and decided that the r4ysauto was the best way for me to get ysmenu on my r4 cards.

    now here is the problem:

    i have 2 r4 sdhc cards. one from r4sdhc.com and the other from r4ultra.com.

    the card thats from r4sdhc.com works flawless with ysmenu but the one from r4ultra.com doesnt.

    ive tested all 4 methods on the ysauto on the r4ultra but i get a "unsupported dldi name" or i get stuck at the loading screen.

    in the first post, the original poster states that ysmenu wont not work on the r4 sdhc. i got ysmenu to work on my r4 sdhc using the ysmenu as a normal nds file method. does the original poster mean that the ysmenu wont work on the r4 sdhc utlra? its not very clear the way he posted it. cause it seems to work with my r4 sdhc.

    if in fact that ysmenu works on the r4 sdhc ultra or r4ultra can someone help me.
     
  2. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The problem is that they are both clones - of which I am sure you already know. As such there is no guarantee that the internal hardware of one ultra is the same as another. What I am saying is; it may work for you but not others and vice versa on the one that won't work for you.
     
  3. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Those 2 carts have different firmwares, hence are different clones. You should notice the contacts area look different and the Ultra cart did actually have the R4Ultra website listed in small print on the bottom on the front (yours could be different?).
    For all intents and purposes these two carts look and operate exactly the same, with the original R4's interface (except the Ultra will display R4 themes without 'conversion' and more importantly, you cannot manually select the theme of choice (need to wait for monthly auto-change).

    I thought I read in another topic on here that YSMenu will not work on the R4Ultra, but I admit I could be mistaken.
     
  4. jeremy.n79
    OP

    Newcomer jeremy.n79 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the response. yes i know my carts are clones. im just confused why my r4 sdhc works with ysmenu when its stated in the post i linked in my first post wouldnt work

    ive read couple of people on here getting the r4 sdhc ultra to work with ysmenu. so i'm just curious to how they got them to work for them.

    i know both the firmware on the r4 sdhc and the r4 sdhc ultra are different, ive downloaded the corresponding firmware from r4sdhc.com and from r4ultra.com. both firmware work with certain games but ive noticed that ysmenu will run games that the original firmwares of both carts wont run. thats why im trying to use ysmenu.
     
  5. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    The R4Ultra might use a differnet DLDI than the real R4 which is what YSMenu supports.
     
  6. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    you used r4ysauto? [or whatever it was called...] i think its better to do it manually, because it worked better for me.

    r4ysauto was way too confusing for me. [​IMG]
     
  7. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Did you successfully load YSMenu onto R4Ultra (OP and myself, to a lesser degree would be interested to know), or is this just simply your impression of which method is easier? [​IMG]
     
  8. grindbart

    Member grindbart GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Germany
    seems that one of both ist a DSTT clone,the other a acekard clone
     
  9. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    Correct, the Ultra is the AceKard clone.
     
  10. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, terrific help guys, but WE knew that.

    Although there's this: taken from the R4 Sticky "All firmwares for the R4":
    R4i Ultra
    Official Firmware - 1.55
    YSmenu - You can learn how to get it from here.
    AKAIO - 1.4.1

    Hence, the confusion.
     

Share This Page