Deleted member 329676

All sweet & honeycomb
OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I just had to share this someone who could possibly appreciate it.

So I ordered myself a late 2013 MacBook Pro with retina display (newest model) from the Apple Refurbished site (where I get all of my Apple products) last week, and it just got here today. I'd been watching the refurbs for awhile, because it can take some time for one with the right specs to pop up, and I finally found one with some upgraded specs for a decent price, so I went with one that had a 2.6 GHz Intel Core i5 and 8 GB of ram, and a 128 GB hard drive.

I'm not really posting to debate the specs or whether you think they're good enough or not. I'm not much of a PC/Mac gamer so I didn't feel I had to max out the specs, as I tend to stick with consoles, but I'm a hobbyist photographer/videographer and felt the baseline model wouldn't quite be enough but I have plenty of external hard drives, so built in disk space wasn't a key upgrade for me.

Anyways, the package shows up today, and of course I instantly open it up and start getting it set up and messing around with it, installing Steam, etc. After a couple hours, I opened up the About This Mac panel just to check out the specs and learn more about my machine, and low and behold, I didn't get the Mac I ordered!

Instead, I got a much better one! The Macbook I'm typing this on has been maxed out a 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 and 16 GB of ram!!! I did a classic double take, and then picked up the box, and the box label shows the lower specs that I had actually paid for. So I got a model priced at $1,900 retail for a model $400 less at retail, plus I bought refurbished so I saved even more. I feel like I won the freaking lottery!